±Recent Visitors

Recent Visitors to Com-Central!

±User Info-big


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: nbrich1
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 6596

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 99
Total: 99
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Home
02: Community Forums
03: Community Forums
04: Community Forums
05: Home
06: Community Forums
07: Community Forums
08: Community Forums
09: Your Account
10: Community Forums
11: Community Forums
12: Community Forums
13: Community Forums
14: Community Forums
15: Community Forums
16: Community Forums
17: Community Forums
18: Community Forums
19: Community Forums
20: Community Forums
21: Photo Gallery
22: Community Forums
23: Home
24: Community Forums
25: Photo Gallery
26: Photo Gallery
27: Community Forums
28: Photo Gallery
29: Community Forums
30: Community Forums
31: Photo Gallery
32: Home
33: Community Forums
34: Community Forums
35: Community Forums
36: Community Forums
37: Community Forums
38: Community Forums
39: Downloads
40: Community Forums
41: Photo Gallery
42: Photo Gallery
43: Community Forums
44: Photo Gallery
45: Photo Gallery
46: Community Forums
47: Photo Gallery
48: Community Forums
49: Community Forums
50: Community Forums
51: Community Forums
52: Photo Gallery
53: Community Forums
54: Photo Gallery
55: Community Forums
56: Community Forums
57: Photo Gallery
58: Community Forums
59: Home
60: Photo Gallery
61: Community Forums
62: Photo Gallery
63: Photo Gallery
64: Community Forums
65: Community Forums
66: Community Forums
67: Community Forums
68: Community Forums
69: Photo Gallery
70: Community Forums
71: Community Forums
72: Community Forums
73: Home
74: Community Forums
75: Community Forums
76: Statistics
77: Community Forums
78: Community Forums
79: Community Forums
80: Photo Gallery
81: Community Forums
82: Home
83: Community Forums
84: Community Forums
85: Photo Gallery
86: Community Forums
87: Community Forums
88: Community Forums
89: Community Forums
90: Community Forums
91: Photo Gallery
92: Home
93: Community Forums
94: Community Forums
95: Community Forums
96: Community Forums
97: Community Forums
98: Photo Gallery
99: Photo Gallery

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
Ram and Xp :: Archived
Resolve issues with your computer problems here or read about the latest computer parts and information.
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  Hardware

Topic Archived View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Shadow_Homfixr
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 527
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL-USA
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:01 pm
Post subject: Ram and Xp

I currently have 2 gigs of DDR2 6400 800mhz ram installed in my MSI K9N Diamond MB that supports up to 8gigs of ram.

www.msicomputer.com/pr...d&class=mb

I was thinking of max'n out to 8 gigs but reading down the page it said XP would only recognize 4 gigs. Is this true and would I be wast'n money on 8? 4 would double what I have and would be no complaints but......MORE POWER arrrrrh arrrh aarrrhhh as the tool man would say Laughing .

RAM:

www.tigerdirect.com/ap...CatId=3412

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6944
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:13 am
Post subject: Re: Ram and Xp

Yep, that's true Homey... Wink

You might want to start thinking about that new 'SUPER' 'puter soon..
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 11:57 am
Post subject: Re: Ram and Xp

Won't even recognise that Homey.
XP (32-bit) is limited to about 3.25Gb

You want to be thinking in terms of a 64-bit behemoth if you wanna use up all them cheap Korean chips.

Wink

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Shadow_Homfixr
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 527
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL-USA
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:26 pm
Post subject: Re: Ram and Xp

Thnx!

Next question then....I have an AMD Athlon 64 x2 5000+ processor on this mobo and if I upgraded to XP 64 Pro then would it all be worth it? I have heard in the past that there are a few things that don't work well in the 64 XP. Is this still true? If so please list some of the limitations of 64 Xp Pro. I mostly use this machine for gaming and working in MS office for my business. All help is greatly appreciated!!

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6944
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 6:27 pm
Post subject: Re: Ram and Xp

Well, at this point in time, I think running a max of 3gig ram on the setup you have should do. I haven't heard that many good things when mixing 64 bit with older games.

Of course, you can also dual boot... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:28 am
Post subject: Re: Ram and Xp

Yeah ditto whut Bushy said.
You'd have to be running a helluva game to warrant the extra.
If you're sticking with Windows, version 7 (Vista 2) is expected out late part of next year.
I would suggest hanging on to see what the initial reports of that are.
If it supports the software and hardware you want, and no-one's reporting the same kind of suckage that I'm having with version 1, it might be worth looking into the 64bit version then.
I would suggest that hardware components will be stupid cheap by then as well, especially anything from Korea (if it isn't bankrupt by then).

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Shadow_Homfixr
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 527
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL-USA
PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:57 pm
Post subject: Re: Ram and Xp

Thnx !!! 3 gigs it is then Smile .

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
Shadow_Homfixr
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 527
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL-USA
PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 7:12 pm
Post subject: Re: Ram and Xp

Ok next 2 questions now that last one is solved Laughing . I have 2 250 gig sata hard drives in this machine and XP only sees one of them...why?

I did not set up any raid that I'm aware of I just let XP do it's thing when I first did this build almost 2 years ago. I may be wrong but I thought at the time as now that it would set up a raid 0 if I didn't do anything or tell it to set up anything different at the beginning.

I would like to take advantage of the 2nd HD as a backup drive or just more storage. I feel like a complete reformat is com'n soon as every now and then I'm gett'n error messages when I reboot such as the driver for the sound card didn't load right or the AVG tray didn't load right so I have to reboot again and that usually fixes that. Maybe I need to set a raid 1 or something when I do reformat or is there a way to use the 2nd HD without reformat'n?

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6944
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:13 pm
Post subject: Re: Ram and Xp

1) Make sure it's installed correctly in the machine, (power cable, SATA cable,) then...

2) Make sure it's recognized in the BIOS setup.

All hardware has to be recognized at the BIOS level prior to 'handing it off' to the Operating System (OS).

To reformat the 2nd drive once it's 'seen' in XP, open "My Computer", right click the drives icon and choose format. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shadow_Homfixr
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 527
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL-USA
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 11:30 am
Post subject: Re: Ram and Xp

Thnx.... I'll look at it and let ya'll know if it gets seen.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
Shadow_Homfixr
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 527
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL-USA
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 11:51 pm
Post subject: Re: Ram and Xp

Ok looked in BIOS and it did not see the second HD and figured some was unplugged. I decided to do my bi monthly cleaning while inside and found that the sata cable going to the 2nd hd was broken on the end and was not connected. I replaced the cable and rebooted and the BIOS did see the second hd. I did not mess with anything in the BIOS at this time and let the machine boot up. I went to MY Comp and XP still did not see the second hd. I rebooted back into BIOS and found that the sata raid setting was set to disable. Not really knowing what to do I enabled this and the puter would not boot. I had to pull the cmos battery to reset( didn't see the reset button at that time...lol) and went back in BIOS and figured out when I enable this option,6 the BIOS loses the hard drives? Neither one of the hds were found in the boot sequence. Had to reset the cmos again. OK I'm in need of some school'n on the BIOS...lol. That has to be the problem right?

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6944
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:42 am
Post subject: Re: Ram and Xp

Go back into BIOS and find out why the Drives aren't being seen such SATA isn't enabled by default or "AUTO" isn't set to detect HD's. Leave RAID alone, then...

Check the boot sequence and make sure the HD your have your OS on it the primary boot HD. It could be once the BIOS 'seen' the second drive, it put it as primary boot and there's no Boot Record on that drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Kitform
Bar Maid

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 21, 2005
Posts: 2010
Location: Cleveland. UK.
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 7:11 pm
Post subject: Re: Ram and Xp

- Shadow_Homfixr
I have 2 250 gig sata hard drives in this machine and XP only sees one of them...why?


First, make sure you have disabled Raid in the bios, you don't need it unless your running a raid system and you will only see one drive,

With raid off and the drive identified in the bios, boot into windows, if you can't see the second drive, I would suspect it's either not formatted or has a corrupt mbr.

It's unusual to have an unformatted hard drive these days unless you do it yourself by deleting the partition table, normally this occurs when your installing windows. Smile

Anyhoo, go to admin tools, select computer management, in the left window at the bottom select disk management and you should be able to see your second drive listed, with unallocated space.

Click the drive and format it, then it should show in windows as normal.

Word of caution Murp...err, Homey, format the correct drive, not your C: drive (Listed as Sata 0) IIRC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shadow_Homfixr
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 527
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL-USA
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 3:21 pm
Post subject: Re: Ram and Xp

Thnx Kit and all I now see and can use my 2nd hd Mr. Green Laughing !

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6944
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 3:57 pm
Post subject: Re: Ram and Xp

More space to store more stuff...lol Glad you got it working!!
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  Hardware
Page 1 of 3
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Archive Revive
Username:
This is an archived topic - your reply will not be appended here.
Instead, a new topic will be generated in the active forum.
The new topic will provide a reference link to this archived topic.