±Recent Visitors

Recent Visitors to Com-Central!

±User Info-big


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: DIEGO38
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 6597

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 100
Total: 100
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Community Forums
02: Community Forums
03: Photo Gallery
04: CPGlang
05: Community Forums
06: Community Forums
07: Community Forums
08: Community Forums
09: Photo Gallery
10: Downloads
11: Community Forums
12: Community Forums
13: Photo Gallery
14: Community Forums
15: Photo Gallery
16: Community Forums
17: Community Forums
18: Community Forums
19: Photo Gallery
20: Photo Gallery
21: Community Forums
22: Community Forums
23: News
24: Community Forums
25: Home
26: Photo Gallery
27: Downloads
28: Photo Gallery
29: Community Forums
30: Community Forums
31: Community Forums
32: Home
33: Community Forums
34: Photo Gallery
35: Community Forums
36: Community Forums
37: Community Forums
38: Photo Gallery
39: Community Forums
40: Home
41: Community Forums
42: Community Forums
43: Community Forums
44: Downloads
45: Photo Gallery
46: Home
47: Photo Gallery
48: Community Forums
49: Community Forums
50: Community Forums
51: Photo Gallery
52: Community Forums
53: Community Forums
54: Photo Gallery
55: Community Forums
56: Photo Gallery
57: Community Forums
58: Photo Gallery
59: Community Forums
60: Photo Gallery
61: Photo Gallery
62: Photo Gallery
63: Photo Gallery
64: Community Forums
65: Community Forums
66: Community Forums
67: Photo Gallery
68: Community Forums
69: Community Forums
70: Community Forums
71: Community Forums
72: Community Forums
73: Photo Gallery
74: Community Forums
75: Photo Gallery
76: Community Forums
77: Member Screenshots
78: Member Screenshots
79: Photo Gallery
80: Community Forums
81: Statistics
82: Photo Gallery
83: Community Forums
84: Community Forums
85: Home
86: Community Forums
87: Member Screenshots
88: Member Screenshots
89: Community Forums
90: Community Forums
91: Statistics
92: Photo Gallery
93: Photo Gallery
94: Community Forums
95: Community Forums
96: Community Forums
97: Community Forums
98: Member Screenshots
99: Photo Gallery
100: Photo Gallery

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
make your rig run better and getting more fps out of it :: Archived
A forum for Microsoft's Flight Simulator X
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  FSX

Topic Archived View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Uhu_Fledermaus
Aircraft Demolition Expert

Offline Offline
Joined: Nov 27, 2004
Posts: 4369
Location: Blaricum, The Netherlands ~GMT+1
PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:51 am
Post subject: make your rig run better and getting more fps out of it

S! all

We all want the fastest system for as little money as possible Wink

Here a lil trick within XP that makes live a bit better and your puter for your FlightSim a bit faster !

What it actually does is, it just disables all the crap Windows XP wants to load , you make any particular proggy only to start when YOU need 'm it free's up some noticable resourses ergo your stuff runs faster/better

if you don't like it, just reset the stuff and all is back to where you had it Laughing

Have fun

fled
Back to top
View user's profile ICQ Number MSN Messenger Photo Gallery
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6945
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Post subject: Re: make your rig run better and getting more fps out of it

Amazing what this does and I'd be very surprised if it didn't help everyone's system! Thanks Fled!
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 3:05 am
Post subject: Re: make your rig run better and getting more fps out of it

Got opposite results than I wished for.

Followed instructions from the MS site Disabled all those processes But upon starting a flight, right away the first thing I noticed was that my frames had got incredibely hacky,forgot to check the rate (shift+Z) Sorry; Could be my system.
Anyway I restored everything the way it was and got my FPS performance back.

Another thing is I live in a very complex area and I have set the complexity preatty high. The simulators' read-me states that Copenhagen Kastrup is one of the airports they chose to make with complexity. So I might have to move to some unmapped pacific Island where the scenery is scarse in order to get my frames to work properly. maybe this will shed somelight to the issue Laughing

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Adrian_Wainer
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jun 02, 2006
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 7:34 am
Post subject: Re: make your rig run better and getting more fps out of it

Berlopez try flying in the Wrangels, it should improve your frame rates.

www.mccarthyair2.com/

some airfields are:

McCarthy
www.alaska.faa.gov/fai.../15Z-a.jpg

Jakes bar
www.alaska.faa.gov/fai.../AK0-a.jpg

Glacier Creek
www.fallingrain.com/faa/KGZ.html

www.alaska.faa.gov/fai...#CopperRvr

Best and Warm Regards
Adrian Wainer
Back to top
View user's profile
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:04 am
Post subject: Re: make your rig run better and getting more fps out of it

Adrian: fantastic, How was I supposed to know this, Thanks! I went there not remembering where and how I had closed the sim the last time And I started in midair. just above the airfield. What an improvement on FPS; Why???
But then being lost as I usually get, I opened my GPS window and the frames hacked again until i closed that window. I am getting 26-30 FPS set at unlimited, while flying; Approaching the ground/runway I get 19-25 FPS Gets a bit hacky there

I don't have a very big system, this is probably why, soon in the coming months I'll be able to purchase a new bigger computer. I am also running Fs9 on it and it runs like it's on rails.

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Adrian_Wainer
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jun 02, 2006
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 1:22 pm
Post subject: Re: make your rig run better and getting more fps out of it

You might want to try Narsarsuaq Airport in Greenland, it has an interesting approach and egress and it is excellent fun to fly in FS9 and may also give you good frame rates in FSX, allthough I am not sure if I have flown it in FSX.

www.calclassic.com/cgi...5;start=15

Best and Warm Regards
Adrian Wainer
Back to top
View user's profile
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 2:47 am
Post subject: Re: make your rig run better and getting more fps out of it

Smile Adrian: Thanks, I'll certainly give it a try and thanks for all the info attached, where do you live, if I may ask?

Yes I got excellent frames yesterday. I suppose this is because the scenery there and in Greenland is not very detailed, despite my graphics settings. I live in Copenhagen Denmark and the local international airport Kastrup was one of the chosen by Microsoft to have detailed complex scenery, See readme file if interested, And maybe that is why my frames here are very poor and demanding on my system. I should be happy I don't get CTD'S any more despite the fact that my machine is working up to its'limits For comparison sake I just loaded a free flight from my local area, tried different complexity and autogen setting; Still hack, hack hickity, hack, sometime it even freezes fro afew second before it can load the scenery; PAIN!

Fs9 works like a charm, I even have local scenery which I developed together with some guys here. (I was only beta tester) Some details are only visible with scenery complexity at very dense and still the level of FPS is very acceptable. If your are intersted this scenery is available as Copenhagen scenery v30; There you'll find instructions for the Base scenery as well which gives the whole area its' amazing realism Wink

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Adrian_Wainer
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jun 02, 2006
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 11:21 am
Post subject: Re: make your rig run better and getting more fps out of it

berlopex, I have not got around to flying the Biafra aid flights in FSX but it should give good frame rates and with the Connie and Douglas FSX compatible Prop liners in the libraries available to download you have got suitable equipment to recreate these flights in FSX.

www.calclassic.com/cgi...1169579843

Best and Warm Regards
Adrian Wainer
Back to top
View user's profile
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 11:40 am
Post subject: Re: make your rig run better and getting more fps out of it

Neutral Adrian: yeah! Thanks for this info. I've been trying to install the CC DC6B succeded but I seem to have got a wrong panel. At least ht panel I got is different to the ones depicted in Jpeg images; All my fs icons are in middle of the panel and not in the left botttom of th epanel as shown in the Jpegs. The area to call the captain panel is not active???This being an EZ install I have simply NO idea where it could have gone wrong??? Crying or Very sad What other Douglas FSX compatible Prop liners do you mean, I'd like to know??? Smile Got The DC6 FFIIXXEEDD

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Adrian_Wainer
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jun 02, 2006
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:47 pm
Post subject: Re: make your rig run better and getting more fps out of it

I was refering to the Connie and Douglas together, when I used the plural "Prop liners" last time I looked there was one Douglas available for FSX. That said there is also a Canadian built pressurized version of the DC-4 with Rolls Royce Merlins available for FSX in the Avsim library, "Argonaut" "Northstar".

Filename: argo_v20.zip
License: Freeware
Added: 28th October 2006
Downloads: 3519
Author: Jens B. Kristensen
Size: 19681kb


I haven't got around to installing the FSX DC-6 so I can't help you much on that, but check out Cal classics as they have lots of info about panels for 1950/60s propliners there.

www.calclassic.com/panels.htm

Also if you are flying this sort of equipment this forum is very useful

www.calclassic.com/cgi...rd=General

NB Just on the off chance you missed it in my Narsarsuaq post in Cal Classics, this is a Greenland Air DC-6 [ NB FS2004 ]

www.flightsim.no/file/...more8.html

some flight tips for flying the DC-6

www.calclassic.com/tips.htm

www.calclassic.com/files/flydc6.txt

Best and Warm Regards
Adrian Wainer
Back to top
View user's profile
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:14 pm
Post subject: Re: make your rig run better and getting more fps out of it

Wow Adrian this was an excellent find, I certainly contact Jens and congratulate and thank him for his work; It's simply supperb.
I got the argo_v20.zip first with its auto install and run that. Then I got the argoptch.zip and installed that as per instruction into the panel of the argo. can't see any difference; Although there is a new panel.cfg in there I think and feel that it flies the same, No difference in the panel either even though it says something about gauges of another fs2004 plane I think is the comet. Anyway thanks very much for the tip

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5832
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 1:10 pm
Post subject: Re: make your rig run better and getting more fps out of it

I would suggest also retrying the install from a "Clean boot" configuration (minimal processes and drivers running) per the instructions here:

CLICK ME <-- Click click click clickclickclikclickclik

The reason I'd suggest that is, as mentioned with Nero, there can be other drivers or background apps which like to think they "own" the DVD drive, and this would help eliminate them, without the muss and fuss of uninstalling them (as you did with Nero). Nero may not be the only culprit, and this would help rule out any others that may be lurking and not evident.

FWIW, this is how I performed my FSX installation just to be on the safe side, and it went perfectly.

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5832
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 1:48 pm
Post subject: Re: make your rig run better and getting more fps out of it

D'OH!

Pls. ignore that post, wrong thread!!! Rolling Eyes

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:28 pm
Post subject: Re: make your rig run better and getting more fps out of it

Crying or Very sad Adrian Thanks for all your advice. I unistalled FSX, gave me so much "O'contraire mon ami" If you know what I mean. My puter as I've mentiones is not very big or very good (hope it doesn't feel this post) and get insulted. I did try your recomendation sometime ago and it didn't help at all. Got exactly the same results, strange I know Sad
So for the time being I'm sticking to Fs9 until soon after we move I can purchase a better computer. Thanks for your time and patients

I'll be sticking around in the Fs9 forum

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:26 am
Post subject: Re: make your rig run better and getting more fps out of it

This might be embarrassing, these are my sys. specs:Processor AMD Athlon(tm) XP/MP/4 1837MHz
Display Card NVIDIA GeForce FX 5600XT
Memory 512MB
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP
Free Disk Space 61.24GB
Display Card Memory 256MB
Display Driver Version 6.14.10.9371
DirectX Version 9.0c
Optical Drive DVD
Sound Card SB Audigy 4 [D800]

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  FSX
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT - 6 Hours

Archive Revive
Username:
This is an archived topic - your reply will not be appended here.
Instead, a new topic will be generated in the active forum.
The new topic will provide a reference link to this archived topic.