±Recent Visitors

Recent Visitors to Com-Central!

±User Info-big


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: JerryH
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 6595

People Online:
Members: 1
Visitors: 93
Total: 94
Who Is Where:
 Members:
01: RCAF_Wingnut > News
 Visitors:
01: Community Forums
02: Home
03: Community Forums
04: Community Forums
05: Photo Gallery
06: Community Forums
07: Photo Gallery
08: Community Forums
09: Photo Gallery
10: Community Forums
11: Community Forums
12: Community Forums
13: Home
14: Community Forums
15: Photo Gallery
16: Community Forums
17: Community Forums
18: Community Forums
19: Photo Gallery
20: Community Forums
21: Community Forums
22: Community Forums
23: Community Forums
24: Community Forums
25: Home
26: Photo Gallery
27: Community Forums
28: Community Forums
29: Community Forums
30: Community Forums
31: Photo Gallery
32: Community Forums
33: Photo Gallery
34: Photo Gallery
35: Community Forums
36: Photo Gallery
37: Community Forums
38: Photo Gallery
39: Community Forums
40: Photo Gallery
41: Community Forums
42: Community Forums
43: Community Forums
44: Community Forums
45: Photo Gallery
46: Photo Gallery
47: Photo Gallery
48: Community Forums
49: News
50: Home
51: Community Forums
52: Community Forums
53: Community Forums
54: Community Forums
55: Photo Gallery
56: Photo Gallery
57: Community Forums
58: Community Forums
59: Community Forums
60: Community Forums
61: Community Forums
62: Photo Gallery
63: Community Forums
64: Photo Gallery
65: Photo Gallery
66: Community Forums
67: Community Forums
68: Community Forums
69: Community Forums
70: Community Forums
71: Photo Gallery
72: Photo Gallery
73: Community Forums
74: Community Forums
75: Community Forums
76: Home
77: Community Forums
78: Home
79: Community Forums
80: Community Forums
81: Community Forums
82: Community Forums
83: Photo Gallery
84: Community Forums
85: Community Forums
86: Community Forums
87: Community Forums
88: Community Forums
89: Photo Gallery
90: Photo Gallery
91: Community Forums
92: Community Forums
93: Photo Gallery

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
Display Issue in desktop?
Resolve issues with your computer problems here or read about the latest computer parts and information.
Post new topic    Reply to topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  Hardware

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 2:30 pm
Post subject: Display Issue in desktop?

I don't know if this is the right place to post this issue?

When I exit FS a screen opens in black in front of the desktop...takes a while (3-5 seconds) before the desktop shows completely; Without knowing any better this to me is a driver issue. I have windows 7 32 with Nvidia GeForce 7500 LE,updated to the latest Nvidia driver... Gives me excelent results for my FSX Accel.At some pointy I installed a desktop driver.Don't rememeber what it was called,but belive this is what is causing the issue, Any advice is greatly appreciated

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2011 1:05 am
Post subject: Re: Display Issue in desktop?

Might be a dos window just closing the game down(?).
Must be a driver issue if it didn't happen before.
Can you do a system restore and get back to a time it didn't happen?
It might be fine if you re-install it all again now.

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2011 2:09 pm
Post subject: Re: Display Issue in desktop?

Shades thanks for your reply and advice... Here's the thing I got hit by the mcAfee bug last year, despite formatting my system twice from originally Vista 32 to XP-SP3 done by a computer shop repairman,In order to get a refund form mcAfee for damaging my system,they needed a bill.

Then that crashed as well and I formatted it myself to win7 32. The desktop driver was installed well before all this happened...by myself,because I was having terrible driver issues at the time as my computer came with win7 preinstalled but nothing else.no drivers, nothing to play FS at all,So by calling computer support " Fujitsu Siemens" they adviced me download driver for the sytem and keep updating...And that's how I not knowingly installed this suspected desktop driver. I caanot do a system restore because of the previous formatts and remembering a date is now impossible. I was just flying one of my Connies form cal-classics.com and while changing views my prop textures turned solid black. I had to dump te flight

Another thing that is annoying me is whenever I click intoa manu after FSX has started,sya to change planes I get a black screen and the message bar saying " Loading complete" Then it load normally; I've tried asking around why this happens,but haven't got a satisfactory response. I do however have a lot of aircraft addons. Could it be that?

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6944
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2011 5:50 am
Post subject: Re: Display Issue in desktop?

I'm not sure what you mean by "Desktop Driver". Does this mean the system driver disk and/or manufactures updates? If so, make sure you back up your old drivers prior to installing the new drivers. Here's a good FREE program to do that... Click HERE!

Once you backup your drivers, you may want to consider making an image of your C Drive. See THIS POST for more details.

For the FSX issue and the black screen, this is almost always a video card driver issue. You may want to try using an older driver to see if it clears up and perhaps the same one you used prior to getting issues. Not all updated drivers work well with all systems, so always be prepared to use your older driver is the new one causes issues.

Aircraft/Scenery add-ons will slow your FSX on initial loading as well as changing planes/areas. The more you have the slower the loading and/or changing times.

Of course, the final solution is to start over...UHG...

Good luck... Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2011 7:46 am
Post subject: Re: Display Issue in desktop?

Helo Shadow " Desktop drivers" was the drivers' name When all this started I posted in the local forum here in Dk. and was adviced to do a system Image,with intructions and all. After inserting the CD and begginin the process...When it finished I ended up with a disc that when I open it contains:

Boot
EFI
proload
Sources
Support
Upgrade
Autorun
Bootmgr
Setup
I posted this back in the forum,as it didn't make any sense to me. They looked at it and the guy whos' advice I fallowed vanished...Since then I've left it as is...Since it works,It's just annoying.

I looked at the elinks and this is all too complicated for me to do.

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6944
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2011 10:48 am
Post subject: Re: Display Issue in desktop?

What happens when you start the computer with that CD/DVD in the player? Does it try to boot something?
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 2:27 am
Post subject: Re: Display Issue in desktop?

Honestly I haven't tried....Fearing it would boot something and make me start all over with a new installation of the OS.When I put the disc in,Once computer started it shows those folder I describe above. I posted these int eh local forum and they didn't know what to do with them; Neither do I?

I'm not very good with the computer, I've learned by trial and error...Sometimes having to do things the Long way,because of my ignorance; Since my issue with mcAfee and having to reinstall everything,by myself I considre myself lucky I still have a computer. Sorry to sound so self condescending.

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6944
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 7:09 am
Post subject: Re: Display Issue in desktop?

No reason to apologize, life is a learning experience... Wink

My advice would be for you to start over. Before you do, READ THIS POST. It was written for XP, but the fundamentals are the same.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 8:40 am
Post subject: Re: Display Issue in desktop?

Wow this seems a drastic solution,just to uninstall a driver,a whole OS formatt. It's taken me months to get it the way I have now,since that mcAfee thingy hit me last year. I thought there could be remanants of it on the system, but after two different formatts firts two XP ( reccommended by mcAfee and then to win7, my choice I would have thought the system would be clean?

It is strange though that the driver is still present and annoying me...This I cannot understand. Sad

I even tried taking a screen shot of the event the double screens by pressing "prtScn"...But when I went ot Paint and document to see if had recorded it...There was nothing? Sad

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 12:40 am
Post subject: Re: Display Issue in desktop?

Not a fan of McAfee but never heard of this problem you describe with it.
I use Norton and you'll find plenty of people here who don't like that either.
The trouble is that Norton isn't really geared up for gamers unless you know how to set it up properly.
It's a massive program but that means it drags performance down which has a particularly bad effect on games like FSX.

If you have some sort of virus and you cannot 'repair' the effect, the only option is to completely re-format the system.
Today's virus' can leave roots in various parts of your registry (even the system restore memory) so they simply re-install themselves after you 'delete' them.
You have to get rid of all traces and that means a complete re-format.

Your system must have come with some drivers or you wouldn't be able to use it.
I am not sure the problem you're experiencing is from a virus.
I think it may be a compatability issue with one of your aircraft/scenery add-ons.
Without working on the system I wouldn't be able to identify it accurately.

I would think about a complete format and re-install.
Make sure you install anti-virus and firewall software before you start installing peripheral software (games/add-ons).

Turn on your System restore and proceed slowly.
If you can track the issue down to one particular add-in, do a system restore to the previous day and knock that one off your list.
Then start trawling forums until you find others who've had the same problem and find out how they fixed the problem.



p.s. 'PrtScn', open Paint, then press 'Ctrl' + 'V' (short code for 'paste').

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 1:43 am
Post subject: Re: Display Issue in desktop?

I'm trying to avoid doing all this shades. I'm afraid to say.

That's what I did...I pressed "prtScn,while the two windows were up both with taskbar...Then when I opened Paint and Ctrl+V Nothing pasted? As if the system was in between doing something?

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
tomridal
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:53 pm
Post subject: Re: Display Issue in desktop?

if u want to know click here

[edited; irrelevant link. RS]

_________________
I want to know com-central.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Reply to topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  Hardware
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT - 6 Hours



Jump to:  


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum