±Recent Visitors

Recent Visitors to Com-Central!

±User Info-big

Retirin' the CFS3 Test Rig...but for what?! :: Archived
Resolve issues with your computer problems here or read about the latest computer parts and information.
Go to page Previous  1, 2
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  Hardware

Topic Archived View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5832
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 10:02 am
Post subject: Re: Retirin' the CFS3 Test Rig...but for what?!

Ohhhh Cripes....everything on 5's in CFS3 at 1600 x 1200 and smooth as silk...sorry, don't mean to sound like bragging.....but this frikkin card rocks gents. Goood Gawd.

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6945
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:19 pm
Post subject: Re: Retirin' the CFS3 Test Rig...but for what?!

LOL Stoopy, I can remember when the next puter I got could max out CFS2!!! Now that was a monster...lol (In those days anyhow.. Smile )

Great feeling to know you're up to speed for a couple years!...:wink:

Congrats on the new 'puter'....:D
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Uhu_Fledermaus
Aircraft Demolition Expert

Offline Offline
Joined: Nov 27, 2004
Posts: 4369
Location: Blaricum, The Netherlands ~GMT+1
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 8:30 pm
Post subject: Re: Retirin' the CFS3 Test Rig...but for what?!

Cool

Hi Stoop,

Congratulations with your New system, may it bring you many hours, days and years of fun Mr. Green

erm..............lil question..............does TeamSpeaak also work on that contraption ?? Laughing

fled
Razz
Back to top
View user's profile ICQ Number MSN Messenger Photo Gallery
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5832
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:08 am
Post subject: Re: Retirin' the CFS3 Test Rig...but for what?!

Teamspeak worked on the old contraption, no problemo......there are unique issues with it in my own environment that preclude it's use 95% of the time tho, not 'puter related....and would require a family downgrade instead of a PC upgrade to resolve. That being the case I prefer things as they are at present.... Smile

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
JG300-Hoppa
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 09, 2005
Posts: 583
Location: vernon BC
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 3:36 am
Post subject: Re: Retirin' the CFS3 Test Rig...but for what?!

On the subject of what we use and all,,,,,I just finished about all the upgrading and modding I can do to my system for the time being,,,,,,,I can run any game now with best graphics enabled and no choppiness, which in the past really used to turn me off some games,,,,not any more,

will try and describe my lil' puter for ya',,,,,,I'm pretty proud of myself for all the work and money that went into this beast,,,so of course I just gotta show it off......



pent. 4, 3 gig processor
windows xp
ABIT IS7 motherboard and an ANTEC 480 true blue power suppply
1 gig of ddr ram (motherboard will accept 4 gigs though)
ASUS DVD rom and LG CD rom
2 hard drives,,,,,a 40 gig and an 80 gig
ATI radeon 8600xt graphics card
creative sound blaster audigy gamer sound card
for sound system am running logitech Z-5300 , 5.1 THX surround





I guess thatd be all the important stuff anyways,,,,,,but last and not least I have this all mutant modded in a half-glass cabinet,,,lotsa lights and fans and all the real purty stuffs...




_________________
_

______________________________________



-----------------------------------------------------
Many thing's in life are dirt cheap.........
"Dirt"
is not one of them.....


Last edited by JG300-Hoppa on Sun Mar 06, 2005 3:51 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5832
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 3:50 am
Post subject: Re: Retirin' the CFS3 Test Rig...but for what?!

That looks wicked! Sounds like a great system too. I dig those cool-looking cases, my desk setup has the 'puter going in
it's own cabinet behind a door so we never see the thing....otherwise it'd be cool to have one like that.

Speaking of new systems, I'm gonna be out of touch most of today while I hook up harddrives from old to new, copy stuff over,
configure, and all that. But when I get back, should be all set up and kickin tail. I really can't wait to finally do some online
dogfighting in CFS3 with glass-smooth frame rates and hi-res on all 5's now.....payback time is a-comin!!!

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Hangman
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Nov 18, 2004
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 4:03 am
Post subject: Re: Retirin' the CFS3 Test Rig...but for what?!

cool Hoppa, you & I have the exact same case except I got mine in that purtty mustard yellow..lol...

toopy you know one of the worst things you can do for your PC is put it inside a cabinet, unless you have a way of getting cool air in there it really puts a heat strain on yuour system..I remember when I used to keep mine in the cabinet of my desk and then I started feeling how warm the desk was getting from it...something to think about anyway:)
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5832
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 4:08 am
Post subject: Re: Retirin' the CFS3 Test Rig...but for what?!

Thanks Hangy....oh yeah, it's very well ventilated for sure, entirely open in the back, and I drag it out every so often and check the
fans for dust-free operations......Nevertheless, since the processor and vid card are "hotter" than what I've had, I'm definitely going
to rig up some temp-monitoring utilities for starters, and keep an eye on things. Thing is, I gotta keep the lady of the house happy
too and this is how my 'puter desk is set up, hard to work around it and keep that clean look so necessary for domestic peace...

Thanks for the caution!!

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shadow_Homfixr
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 528
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL-USA
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 5:22 am
Post subject: Re: Retirin' the CFS3 Test Rig...but for what?!

Nice puter there!!! I know what you mean about touchy, feely, pay and play...lol! Only one upgrade I see you really need and it's a cheap one. That 305 watt supply you have just may cause you some probs. That big vid card you just put in there would be a LOT happier on say a 500 watt supply. At least that is what 401RCAF_Hitman screams about to everyone...lol! Good Luck on getting it all setup and many years of Fun ahead!

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
JG300-Hoppa
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 09, 2005
Posts: 583
Location: vernon BC
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 6:58 am
Post subject: Re: Retirin' the CFS3 Test Rig...but for what?!

my one and only main reason for buying this style of cabinet was my computer desk also has one of those shelving units for storing hidden away.......it was well ventilated of course ,,,cause the back was all open....but having a dog and a cat creates so much extra dust and dander near the floor level,,,,so I wanted something up high, easy access to the wiring and nice to look at........the amount of dust to blow out of the box now has decreased 10 fold.......

_________________
_

______________________________________



-----------------------------------------------------
Many thing's in life are dirt cheap.........
"Dirt"
is not one of them.....
Back to top
View user's profile
401RCAF_Sly
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 11, 2005
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 2:03 pm
Post subject: Re: Retirin' the CFS3 Test Rig...but for what?!

Just a question

Why a die hard intel man? I don't know of anybody that has had to contact a cpu manufacture for support so it can't be after sales service, reliability of all is very good and performance is well documented for all cpu's

I appreciiate you prolly don't get the price breaks on AMD like we do in europe...

Just wonderin thats all Razz

Sly
Back to top
View user's profile
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5832
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:07 am
Post subject: Re: Retirin' the CFS3 Test Rig...but for what?!

Well, there are probably as many opinions on this one as there are for video cards and all that.....for me it's just simple compatability,
it could all be in my head and there may be NO compatability issues these days but years ago, when the LIM standard was introduced,
the "Big Three" (Lotus-Intel-Microsoft, "LIM") agreed on certain standards and although it's a very (laughingly) obsolete standard now,
it's just a carryover for me and one example. I'm wiling to forsake a small performance edge for simple peace of mind that there's
one less thing to wonder about when something goes wunky, is all.

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
JG300-Hoppa
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 09, 2005
Posts: 583
Location: vernon BC
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:16 pm
Post subject: Re: Retirin' the CFS3 Test Rig...but for what?!

I fully admit I'm way outa my league even talking about such things but 'll just kinda put it in easy terms as was done for me upon the purchasing of my first main computer,,,,(pentium celeron ).......I had heard that AMD was more of a gamers processor and had more power,,I wanted it!!!,,but having told the salesman that I was new to everything about computers he said you should go with pentium!!!!!....He had said that usually the more advanced folk will go with AMD ...He said that running higher end games are strenuous and that a pentium processor will automatically shut itself down if it was to overheat,,,,,,AMD will not,,,,thats why you see all these guys with super duper cooling systems and all that.....well,,,,I have kinda lived by those words ever since,,,,,,,AMD...pentium,,,,,don't matter much,,,I still try to keep it cool in there,,,,,,,must be my canadian nature I guess,,,lol Rolling Eyes ..........my first puter was intel,,,,so thats kinda where i remain .......that was also about 5 years ago when I got that first puter,,,I'm sure AMD has changed????????

_________________
_

______________________________________



-----------------------------------------------------
Many thing's in life are dirt cheap.........
"Dirt"
is not one of them.....
Back to top
View user's profile
AARP-StepChild
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 05, 2005
Posts: 43
Location: Hampton Va. US
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:31 am
Post subject: Re: Retirin' the CFS3 Test Rig...but for what?!

M/B BIOS will shut down the system on overtemp. I believe in insurance!!!

_________________

"THIS is my Kung Fu, and it is STRONG"
TS Server: 151.199.149.217:8770
members.cox.net/raynmanf037/
mysite.verizon.net/rfriedenberg/
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
401RCAF_Sly
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 11, 2005
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 8:52 am
Post subject: Re: Retirin' the CFS3 Test Rig...but for what?!

Ah ha

Seems like the vid that Toms Hardware did 3 years ago showing an Athlon 1800 frying itself is still news around your parts lol..

up to date Mobos with protection were available at the time the vid was made, and all since... take it in context

Not a AMD fanboy or anything just don't wanna see guys on these boards limit thier options unecessarily... There are quite a few guys that read these boards who may not have too much hardware savvy and I like to put the other side for sake of balance..

the CPU temp cut off is a non issue and has been for 3 years
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  Hardware
Page 2 of 2
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Go to page Previous  1, 2

Archive Revive
Username:
This is an archived topic - your reply will not be appended here.
Instead, a new topic will be generated in the active forum.
The new topic will provide a reference link to this archived topic.