±Recent Visitors

Recent Visitors to Com-Central!

±User Info-big


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: scheear
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 6590

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 48
Total: 48
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Home
02: Community Forums
03: Community Forums
04: Community Forums
05: Community Forums
06: Community Forums
07: Home
08: Community Forums
09: Photo Gallery
10: Downloads
11: Community Forums
12: Community Forums
13: Community Forums
14: Community Forums
15: Home
16: Downloads
17: Downloads
18: Photo Gallery
19: Community Forums
20: Community Forums
21: Community Forums
22: Community Forums
23: Community Forums
24: Community Forums
25: Community Forums
26: Community Forums
27: Community Forums
28: Community Forums
29: Photo Gallery
30: Photo Gallery
31: Community Forums
32: Home
33: Community Forums
34: Community Forums
35: Community Forums
36: Community Forums
37: Community Forums
38: Community Forums
39: Photo Gallery
40: Community Forums
41: Photo Gallery
42: Photo Gallery
43: Community Forums
44: Photo Gallery
45: Community Forums
46: Community Forums
47: Photo Gallery
48: Community Forums

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
installing both Xp Pro and XP 64 Pro... :: Archived
This is a forum for Software related items such as OS', Virus notices, cool or free programs, etc. Gaming software should go in the gaming folder pertaining to the current info.
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  Software

Topic Archived View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
HF_SlowHand
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Aug 26, 2005
Posts: 765
Location: Meeechigan
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:09 pm
Post subject: installing both Xp Pro and XP 64 Pro...

Whelp, went out and bought XP 64 Pro after running FSX thinking it would 'unlock' the full power of my amd 4000 LOL (wrong, tests show XP 64 pro get a slight decrease in performance on games LOL www.simhq.com/_technol..._043a.html )...

But not one to "waste" a product, I thought I might buy anotherl harddrive and throw it on that. Will it work or should I put it on ebay and be done with it?

Rolling Eyes

_________________
I deny everything
I lie about everything
And everything I deny
Is a lie!
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6939
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:10 am
Post subject: Re: installing both Xp Pro and XP 64 Pro...

I haven't tried it Slow, but I have put XP Pro as two seperate OS' on one disk and would think what you want to do can be done too... Wink

At one time, I had XP Pro, Vista Beta, Memphis Linux and MacTiger10XPPro all running on one drive...lol
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
HF_SlowHand
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Aug 26, 2005
Posts: 765
Location: Meeechigan
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:35 am
Post subject: Re: installing both Xp Pro and XP 64 Pro...

Thanks Bush, I decided to sell it... although my HD is getting owful noisy lately running FSX, I know theres been some posts on CPU usage being 100% in FSX - anyone hearing any funmnmy HD sounds running it too?

May be a coiincidence.

and I pray a Happy thanksgiving for you and yours Jerry, we have much to be thankful for my brother!

_________________
I deny everything
I lie about everything
And everything I deny
Is a lie!
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
HF_SlowHand
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Aug 26, 2005
Posts: 765
Location: Meeechigan
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:36 am
Post subject: Re: installing both Xp Pro and XP 64 Pro...

should get spullchuck Jerry in dese fourarms...
pfat phingers u kown OLO...

_________________
I deny everything
I lie about everything
And everything I deny
Is a lie!
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6939
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:50 am
Post subject: Re: installing both Xp Pro and XP 64 Pro...

LOL Slow!!

Spullchuck is bilt n the kneww firefox 2.0...
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6394
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:00 am
Post subject: Re: installing both Xp Pro and XP 64 Pro...

IE yewzas down't need spullchuck, wee kan spull orlreddy.

Razz

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
HF_SlowHand
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Aug 26, 2005
Posts: 765
Location: Meeechigan
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:35 am
Post subject: Re: installing both Xp Pro and XP 64 Pro...

otay... using 1.5.1.8, must be I missed all of em up to 2?
LOL I am Sloooow....

_________________
I deny everything
I lie about everything
And everything I deny
Is a lie!
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6939
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 11:14 am
Post subject: Re: installing both Xp Pro and XP 64 Pro...

Look on the bottom of this Web page Slow, the link to 2.0 is on there AND...it'll upgrade too!!
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Adrian_Wainer
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jun 02, 2006
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 12:46 pm
Post subject: Re: installing both Xp Pro and XP 64 Pro...

Just an idea in respect of running multiple operating systems

transportable racks are cages and their inserts for hard-drives that fit in to your case's 5.25 inch slots and the particularly handy thing about them is that most have a key that allows you disable the hard-drive in the rack so e.g. you could have one rack with XP home, one with Linux and one with Vista and switching between the racks is as easy as turning the key[s]. Furthermore the number of 5.25 inch slots in your case does not determine the number of racks [ actually inserts ] you can have, as they [ the inserts ] easily slide in and out and you can swap a rack [ or more specifically the insert ] that was in the computer for say one sitting on your bookshelf in a short time NB you do not need to start connecting the SATA cable to the drives/motherboard when you swap racks [ ie inserts ] as when you install the discdrive in the insert the insert is able to make a clean connection with the rack which holds it which does not need to be manually plugged /unplugged for insertion/removal of the insert in to the rack / from the rack.

www.icydock.com/sata.html

Best and Warm Regards
Adrian Wainer
Back to top
View user's profile
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6939
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 3:47 pm
Post subject: Re: installing both Xp Pro and XP 64 Pro...

I used to use that system Adrian and while it works great for the most part, the trays seems to wear out after a while or the cooling fans quit working and we all know how hot a HD runs in an enclosure, so I went back to the old method of 'hanging the 'portable' HD' off the cable...lol

I can't help but think USB enclosures are really the answer to most 'portable' HD issues... Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Adrian_Wainer
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jun 02, 2006
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 12:41 pm
Post subject: Re: installing both Xp Pro and XP 64 Pro...

Thanx for the comments on the downsides to the racks, I would not be pulling them out very often since I have a stacker case which has plenty of slots, but the fan fail issue is certainly something to keep in mind!

Best and Warm Regards
Adrian Wainer
Back to top
View user's profile
HF_SlowHand
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Aug 26, 2005
Posts: 765
Location: Meeechigan
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 3:05 pm
Post subject: Re: installing both Xp Pro and XP 64 Pro...

Bushie,

Are you saying that I could get a hard drive, put it in a USB enclosure and install this XP pro 64 on that hard drive and essentially have 2 OS on 2 HD's? How would you pick which one to boot off of?

Remember, i AM slow....

_________________
I deny everything
I lie about everything
And everything I deny
Is a lie!
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6939
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 6:31 pm
Post subject: Re: installing both Xp Pro and XP 64 Pro...

Slow, you could do that, but it would be better to use your USB drive for storing files, ghost images of your HD or backup files.

The best way would be to partition your HD and install the 2 OS'. Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Adrian_Wainer
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jun 02, 2006
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 2:09 pm
Post subject: Re: installing both Xp Pro and XP 64 Pro...

Slow it is possible to have a number of operating systems on a single internal hard-disc drive the only requirement is that only one operating system can reside in any one partition, if you allready have an operating system installed e.g. XP home and you want to install another operating system e.g. XP Professional x64. You have to create a new partition for the x64 and set the operating system to boot from the optical drive ie DVD / CD Rom drive and then install the x64 to the new partition. NB apparently Microsoft will not allow you to install Linux distros in this fashion but I presume it works for all MS operating systems. Have successfully installed a second MS operating system, when you system boots up in future, it will give you the choice of which operating system you want to use.

Best and Warm Regards
Adrian Wainer
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  Software
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT - 6 Hours

Archive Revive
Username:
This is an archived topic - your reply will not be appended here.
Instead, a new topic will be generated in the active forum.
The new topic will provide a reference link to this archived topic.