±Recent Visitors

Recent Visitors to Com-Central!

±User Info-big


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: nbrich1
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 6596

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 103
Total: 103
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Photo Gallery
02: Community Forums
03: Search and Rescue
04: Photo Gallery
05: Photo Gallery
06: Photo Gallery
07: Community Forums
08: Community Forums
09: Community Forums
10: Community Forums
11: Photo Gallery
12: Home
13: Photo Gallery
14: Community Forums
15: Photo Gallery
16: Community Forums
17: Community Forums
18: Community Forums
19: Photo Gallery
20: Statistics
21: Photo Gallery
22: Photo Gallery
23: Community Forums
24: Community Forums
25: Home
26: Photo Gallery
27: Photo Gallery
28: Home
29: Community Forums
30: Community Forums
31: Community Forums
32: Photo Gallery
33: Community Forums
34: Photo Gallery
35: CPGlang
36: Photo Gallery
37: Community Forums
38: Community Forums
39: Photo Gallery
40: Community Forums
41: Community Forums
42: Community Forums
43: Downloads
44: Community Forums
45: Home
46: Photo Gallery
47: Home
48: Photo Gallery
49: Your Account
50: Photo Gallery
51: Community Forums
52: Community Forums
53: Home
54: Community Forums
55: Home
56: Community Forums
57: Community Forums
58: Community Forums
59: Community Forums
60: Community Forums
61: Community Forums
62: Community Forums
63: Community Forums
64: Community Forums
65: Community Forums
66: Downloads
67: Community Forums
68: Photo Gallery
69: Community Forums
70: Photo Gallery
71: Community Forums
72: Photo Gallery
73: Community Forums
74: Home
75: Photo Gallery
76: Community Forums
77: Photo Gallery
78: Community Forums
79: Community Forums
80: News
81: Community Forums
82: Community Forums
83: Community Forums
84: Community Forums
85: Community Forums
86: News
87: Community Forums
88: Community Forums
89: Community Forums
90: Community Forums
91: Community Forums
92: Community Forums
93: Community Forums
94: Community Forums
95: Community Forums
96: Community Forums
97: Community Forums
98: Photo Gallery
99: Community Forums
100: Photo Gallery
101: Community Forums
102: Community Forums
103: Community Forums

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
dual Core? :: Archived
Resolve issues with your computer problems here or read about the latest computer parts and information.
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  Hardware

Topic Archived View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
401RCAF_Sly
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 11, 2005
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 8:28 am
Post subject: dual Core?

Any of you guys running dual core help me out?

Thinking about building a rig,
need to know.... with a dual core set up can you select or instruct applications to run on a specific CPU?
Or is it purely that both CPU's share the load?

This is not for gaming, it is for karaoke hosting.
I want to run two instances of winamp with visulisations simultaneously, A single instance keeps my O'Clocked FX53 at 90% plus utilisation.


Thanks Sly
Back to top
View user's profile
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 9:23 am
Post subject: Re: dual Core?

I have put some 'feelers' out for you.


_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 9:38 am
Post subject: Re: dual Core?

Et, VOILA!

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Adrian_Wainer
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jun 02, 2006
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 11:27 am
Post subject: Re: dual Core?

Sly if this any help to you, most applications just utilize a single core e.g. FS9 and FSX, [ ie the application needs to be able to split itself over two cores and many programmes can not do this e.g. FSX can't do this ] if I am right in thinking that you intend to run discrete instances of the same programme, I presume what core or cores the two same but seperate application programmes would run in would be determined by the operating system e.g. Windows XP operating system, but you may also be able to manually determine which core particular programmes are to run in, I have never done that so I can not say if it is a good idea or not and you should not do it with an application programme which is designed to utilize a multicore processor as you would presumably degrade its [ i.e. the application programme's ] performance.

Best and Warm Regards
Adrian Wainer
Back to top
View user's profile
RM_bizkid
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Feb 03, 2005
Posts: 237
Location: Ontario, Canada
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 12:44 pm
Post subject: Re: dual Core?

I did notice that for those with AMD 64 dual cores there was an optimizer for gaming applications released in November. Don't know if this helps?

Can be downloaded at this link:

www.amd.com/us-en/Proc...06,00.html
Back to top
View user's profile
Shadow_Banshee
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Feb 02, 2005
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:37 pm
Post subject: Re: dual Core?

ok i downloaded and installed the optimizer.. theres no console for it that i can see so i guess it must run auto in bios ?, i'll let you know if theres any improvement in bf2 that i can see later, fingers crossed this dont screw my system lol.....

_________________
Lay me place and bake me Pie
I'm starving for me Gravy
Back to top
View user's profile
Kitform
Bar Maid

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 21, 2005
Posts: 2010
Location: Cleveland. UK.
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:43 pm
Post subject: Re: dual Core?

- 401RCAF_Sly
Any of you guys running dual core help me out?

Thinking about building a rig,
need to know.... with a dual core set up can you select or instruct applications to run on a specific CPU?
Or is it purely that both CPU's share the load?


Hey Sly,

Yep you can allocate a program to a specific core...I have TS running on core2 only.

I'll install winamp and give it a try...Catch you over the weekend.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
401RCAF_Sly
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 11, 2005
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 3:06 am
Post subject: Re: dual Core?

Thanks Guys good feedback

Kit... It would be extremely helpful if .... Laughing

I am am after installing and running two instances of win amp (in different directories) and want to direct each to its own cpu and vid card (SLI set up) . if it were possible to test this that would be great.. Laughing

Under WinAmp/settings/preferences /options/general? there is a check box to allow multiple instances.. both installs have to be checked


In case anyone is wondering why I am after doing this when winamp uses minimal resources..... true that just playing sound uses very little of the CPU, if you switch on visulisations watch it hit 100%

Why two instances?..... I have WinAmp #1 playing the Karaoke MP3+G files and WinAmp#2 playing fill in music continuously so I can fade straight to it between singers.

It gets even more complicated by the fact that each vid card will also be running a TV via the S-vid out as well as a monitor.

At the present I am using an FX53 +Nvid 6800 ultra rig that is running 100% CPU all night (6 hour shows)

Rig I am considering is
NVid 680I SLI mobo
Conroe CPU E6600 ?
2 gig RAM
2 x 7600GT Vid Cards
Creative X-Fi Music soundcard
Audigy soundcard
2 x plextor 755 cd/DVD drives SATA (these play CD+G discs )
2x 200gig SATA drives
all in a rackmount case

Yep 2 soundcards (and the onboard is used too)

Need recomendations on CPU cooler.... needs to be quietish but more importantly needs to be light... this rig will be transported about a lot
and some of the giant heavy coolers put a lot of strain on the mobo


Thanks again

Sly
Back to top
View user's profile
Kitform
Bar Maid

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 21, 2005
Posts: 2010
Location: Cleveland. UK.
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 5:15 am
Post subject: Re: dual Core?

Hey Sly

Okey dokey...a couple of test screens...

I installed two instances of winamp each into a different directory.
I renamed one as winamp1 and the other as winamp2.
I set each to run on a different core (win1 on core0, win2 in core2)

Each instance of winamp is sat above it's respective core.

The first screen shows both winamps playing at different times on a single monitor

Bigger%20pic%20here This%20second%20screen%20has%20each%20winamp%20playing%20on%20seperate%20monitors.

Bigger pic here

You can see core1 is clear cut between winamp playing and stopped.
Core0 is not so clear cut as it's the default core for other processes that
aren't duel core applications.

My set-up
E6700 Conroe
2x 7950GT2 cards

Each monitor has it's own graphics card, I don't run SLI mode as none of
my programs would take advantage of quad graphics. where as one 7950GX2 is SLI'd anyway.

Hope this helps m8ty
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 7:50 am
Post subject: Re: dual Core?

I worry about you sometimes kit... fancy letting us know you listen to Yusuf Islam when you take screenies of your player.

Razz

Wink

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Kitform
Bar Maid

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 21, 2005
Posts: 2010
Location: Cleveland. UK.
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 11:57 am
Post subject: Re: dual Core?

LOL, ya sob...:)

Cat Stevens man, always will be the cat, same as Cassious Clay.

I don't go in for name changes, well, maybe just at weekends Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 2:31 pm
Post subject: Re: dual Core?

Ahhhhhh Cassius Clay.
He really was(is) the greatest pugilist of all.
Boxing's Elvis.
Gimme some footage of him (in his prime), Sugar Ray, Marvellous Marvin.... ohhh I feel a beer a-comin' on!

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Kitform
Bar Maid

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 21, 2005
Posts: 2010
Location: Cleveland. UK.
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 3:15 pm
Post subject: Re: dual Core?

Showing your age now...lol

I don't think I remember any of them...:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 1:31 am
Post subject: Re: dual Core?

I still remember watching the Clay Cooper fight at the time.
And the Sugar-Ray/Hagler fights.
<<< Oldiest git.

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
401RCAF_Sly
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 11, 2005
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 1:42 am
Post subject: Re: dual Core?

Wow !!

Perfect Kit.... thanks mate, looks like I'm goin to build my first Intel rig for 5 years... Shocked

I've already decided that it will be on a board with NVid 680I chipset.. Is the E6600 the slowest of the "Conroe" chips?(cheapest Laughing )

Is 550W SLI PSU enough for 2 x 7600GT cards?


Thanks again mate

Sly

Yep always the Cat ......... great songs
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  Hardware
Page 1 of 2
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Go to page 1, 2  Next

Archive Revive
Username:
This is an archived topic - your reply will not be appended here.
Instead, a new topic will be generated in the active forum.
The new topic will provide a reference link to this archived topic.