±Recent Visitors

Recent Visitors to Com-Central!
AMD back in the game? :: Archived
Resolve issues with your computer problems here or read about the latest computer parts and information.
Go to page Previous  1, 2
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  Hardware

Topic Archived View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:42 pm
Post subject: Re: AMD back in the game?

- HF_SlowHand
Regards Adrian and Shades
That made kinda weird reading for a moment there.
My real name's Adrian but my friends call me Shades.
Hence the callsign.
lolol

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Adrian_Wainer
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jun 02, 2006
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:26 am
Post subject: Re: AMD back in the game?

- HF_SlowHand
Regards Adrian and Shades,

I may go the overclocking route, dunno. You know I had thought about "dual core processor" but what with everything I read and every one I talked to daid no - they were great for number crunching/data but not good for gaming?

Not true then?

Maybe a rudimentary class on what to look for when building a gamer? (GAMER 101?)

Many thanks!
Jim aka slow


I am using the AMD Athlon 4800 dualie for FSX, which is a sim which is makes only minimal use of dual-core but I am confident that the dual core is haveing a posative effect, in that my assumption is that the Windows XP is putting all the background computer housekeeping activities on one core and FSX on the other as one of the cores is running at about fifteen percent utilization and the other at about sixty.

Best and Warm Regards
Adrian Wainer
Back to top
View user's profile
Adrian_Wainer
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jun 02, 2006
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:35 am
Post subject: Re: AMD back in the game?

- Shades
BEWARE; With some boards (ie my Gigabutt GA-81K1100) they can take different amounts of RAM but start to bottleneck, the more you have.
Mine can take up to 4Gb of PC3200.
However it will only perform as PC3200 while there's 2Gb on the board.
If I put 3Gb in it, the whole lot will drop to PC2700 and, heaven forbid, should I put the whole 4Gb in it, it all drops to PC2100..


Shades would it be possible to get round that degrade issue by using two 2 Gigabyte sticks of RAM?, I know that it presently only a possability with DDR2 but I rather suspect DDR with get 2 Gig sticks too?

Best and Warm Regards
Adrian Wainer
Back to top
View user's profile
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 12:37 pm
Post subject: Re: AMD back in the game?

Yeh, it's not the number of sticks (I upgraded my 2 x 512 = 1Gb, to 4 x 512 = 2Gb), it's the total amount of RAM and how the board handles it.

I have 2Gb of PC3200 over 4 of my 6 slots.
I could also have 2 x 1Gb sticks of PC3200 in 2 slots.
Both would work as PC3200 just fine.

But, if I were to go for 2 x 2Gb or 4 x 1Gb sticks, giving a total of 4Gb, then the whole lot would drop to PC2100.
My Gigabutt mobo also utilises dual channel and I have to use an even number of sticks (2, 4 or 6), otherwise the whole lot would drop to normal single channel.

This is a 3 year old machine, using DDR (DDR2 wasn't around in those days).
I'm not aware of it having changed but I haven't investigated since.

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  Hardware
Page 2 of 2
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Go to page Previous  1, 2

Archive Revive
Username:
This is an archived topic - your reply will not be appended here.
Instead, a new topic will be generated in the active forum.
The new topic will provide a reference link to this archived topic.