±Recent Visitors

Recent Visitors to Com-Central!
Turning on the standby radios in planes. :: Archived
Discussions about the FS2004 game.
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  FSXFS2004 :: Archives

Topic Archived View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RCAF_Wingnut
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 28, 2005
Posts: 775
Location: Omaha, Ne.
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:21 pm
Post subject: Turning on the standby radios in planes.

A question was asked this afternoon about the standby radios in the Aero Commanders. The comments were this, to tune in the radio, you can only tune in the primary radio, and the standby numbers won't move. The solution is a simple change of the radio entries in the aircraft config file. Here is what the entry is before the changes are made.

[Radios]
// Radio Type=available, standby frequency, has glide slope
Audio.1=1
Com.1=1, 0
Com.2=1, 0
Nav.1=1, 0, 1
Nav.2=1, 0, 0
Adf.1=1
Transponder.1=1
Marker.1=1


The com and nav radios have 2 or 3 numbers divided by commas. The first number is for the primary radio. The second number represents the standby radio, and the third number represents a radio that controls flight, particularly the Nav 1 radio which is for the ILS approach system. Nav 2 can be used to control the direction using the auto-pilot, but since it isn't for approach with a glide slope, it will always have a 0 for the third number. When the 1st and 2nd numbers are 0's, they can't be tuned in or adjusted. Here is what the changes need to look like in order for the standby side to work.

[Radios]
// Radio Type=available, standby frequency, has glide slope
Audio.1=1
Com.1=1, 1
Com.2=1, 1
Nav.1=1, 1, 1
Nav.2=1, 1, 0
Adf.1=1
Transponder.1=1
Marker.1=1


Please note, the second numbers are now 1's. This indicates the radio can be tuned in and used. It only allows you to tune them in, but they don't receive the signal until they are switched to the primary radio. As you can see, it is a simple fix, and anyone can do it with any aircraft that has the radio stacks that have the secondary numbers that won't tune in for use.

I hope it helps you guys.

_________________
"May your Enemys Run With Fear!!"
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
gajinoz
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 26, 2007
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 12:28 am
Post subject: Re: Turning on the standby radios in planes.

Excellent tip, thank for that.

_________________
Not really, but you never know!
Back to top
View user's profile
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6945
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 5:39 am
Post subject: Re: Turning on the standby radios in planes.

Thanks Wingy!
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5832
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 4:45 pm
Post subject: Re: Turning on the standby radios in planes.

Excellent info....Danke, Wingy!!!

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  FSXFS2004 :: Archives
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT - 6 Hours

Archive Revive
Username:
This is an archived topic - your reply will not be appended here.
Instead, a new topic will be generated in the active forum.
The new topic will provide a reference link to this archived topic.