±Recent Visitors

Recent Visitors to Com-Central!

±User Info-big


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: nbrich1
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 6596

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 86
Total: 86
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Community Forums
02: Community Forums
03: Statistics
04: Community Forums
05: Photo Gallery
06: Photo Gallery
07: Home
08: Community Forums
09: Community Forums
10: Community Forums
11: Community Forums
12: Community Forums
13: Photo Gallery
14: Photo Gallery
15: Community Forums
16: Community Forums
17: Photo Gallery
18: Community Forums
19: Community Forums
20: Community Forums
21: Community Forums
22: Community Forums
23: Community Forums
24: Community Forums
25: Photo Gallery
26: Photo Gallery
27: Community Forums
28: Home
29: Community Forums
30: Photo Gallery
31: Community Forums
32: Photo Gallery
33: Community Forums
34: Community Forums
35: Photo Gallery
36: Home
37: Community Forums
38: Community Forums
39: Community Forums
40: Community Forums
41: Community Forums
42: Home
43: Photo Gallery
44: Downloads
45: Photo Gallery
46: Photo Gallery
47: Community Forums
48: Community Forums
49: Community Forums
50: Community Forums
51: Community Forums
52: Search
53: Community Forums
54: Your Account
55: Community Forums
56: Community Forums
57: Community Forums
58: Photo Gallery
59: Photo Gallery
60: Community Forums
61: Photo Gallery
62: Community Forums
63: Photo Gallery
64: Photo Gallery
65: Community Forums
66: Photo Gallery
67: Community Forums
68: Community Forums
69: Community Forums
70: Community Forums
71: Photo Gallery
72: Photo Gallery
73: Community Forums
74: Photo Gallery
75: Community Forums
76: Photo Gallery
77: Community Forums
78: Photo Gallery
79: Photo Gallery
80: Community Forums
81: Community Forums
82: Community Forums
83: Community Forums
84: Photo Gallery
85: Community Forums
86: Community Forums

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
Vista doesn't support my joystick :: Archived
This is a forum for Software related items such as OS', Virus notices, cool or free programs, etc. Gaming software should go in the gaming folder pertaining to the current info.
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  Software

Topic Archived View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2007 12:30 am
Post subject: Vista doesn't support my joystick

Okay, update.
I have my internet conection sorted out and working now.
I have CFS1 installed (virgin - with no setting tweaks and not set up for me) and working now.
I have no joystick.
Vista doesn't recognise the drivers / software to run my old M$ FFB2.

So I'm still unable to fly at the moment.

Have two possible solutions for this:-

1) Buy a new joystick. Just for CFS1? I don't think so.

2) Install XP as well and run a dual boot system. I have prepared for this and have a spare partition ready to load it away from anything else. However, I still haven't decided to do it yet. It would be just to run this joystick to fly CFS1 and again, I'm not sure it's worth doing with all the maintenance XP itself needs and crap it accumulates.

Will have to think about it this week, but there is a chance that I may have already flown my last sortie.

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6944
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2007 3:33 am
Post subject: Re: Vista doesn't support my joystick

Vista seems to be a bit premature for the games we do, so I think I'll stick with XP for a while, but...

1) Consider the X52 joystick. While I don't like the 'feel' as well as my FF2 stick, it's quite nice and has a lot of rotary and static buttons to use. I'm thinking it should work with Vista too, but haven't checked it out yet.

2) I've been running dual and up 4 OS boot systems for years and see no problem with running those. One big advantage is if one partition gets hosed for some reason, the other OS' will let you in the file system to save your data. At the moment I'm running XP and LinuxMint on two separate SATA drives. SATA's a bit tricker than IDE drives to do this, but it can be done.

Last sortie? Did your arse finally start to heal after flying Shadow?...lol
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2007 6:35 am
Post subject: Re: Vista doesn't support my joystick

sob!
lol
Thanx for the suggest but I like my old FFB2.
It 'feels' right.
I've tried others which don't and I don't think I could get used to another just for the sake of flying CFS1 now.

Sadly I missed flying Shadows as I only arrived in CFS1 in 2001 after you'd all pretty much left. Proud to say I managed to enjoy a good few games with Draken in teams and 1v1's for the first couple of years though.
Oh, and Banshee of course but weeeelllll ya try an avoid Banshee as much as possible. Can take the 'beauty' level of a game down, havin Ban' in yer room. Stops the girls from comin' by as well. Rolling Eyes

Laughing Cool Laughing Wink Razz


_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:18 pm
Post subject: Re: Vista doesn't support my joystick

There is no softwae to run between MS-FF2 and Vista; I too gave up on trying to find any.
I've been running mt trusty MS-FF2 simply plugged to a USB stick and I get a certain amount of forces there...Nothing compared to how it was in FS2002,4...Already in Fs9 the problem started when one couldn't feel ground bumps; Depending on the addon,Jets have virtually no feel; Propeller aircraft,specially small plane feel ok...But just ok

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:40 pm
Post subject: Re: Vista doesn't support my joystick

Cheers berlopez.
I can get the stick and the game to run.
My problem is that I had flaps, trim, prop., mix, etc. all running from programmed buttons on my FFB-2.
Just setting the game up and primary control functions ran off one button as soon as I entered the game and then various different operations from other buttons during it.
It's the macro software to sync. the stick I need.
Vista (and W&) seems to be allergic to it.
It's been a few years since I've played it anyway now.
I suppose I have to be realistic anyway; It would take too long to get back into it now and I don't have that kind of time any more.
Thanks for the input though.

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:44 pm
Post subject: Re: Vista doesn't support my joystick

Shades: This would be ideal for you and your FF2 stick,whn youhave the time.It's payware,but worth it. I had it in Fs9 and couldn't fly without it; here's part of the description file...You have to find the download site. You could also download a trial version which allows you to fly in certain areas for a period of time.Here's the link:http://www.fs-force.com/

FS Force is an add-on module for Microsoft* Flight Simulator that provides dynamic force feedback effects in response to your current operating conditions. On the ground, you'll feel bumps, dips, pavement grooves, braking forces, hard landings and more. In the air, you'll feel realistic trim forces, and centering forces that vary with airspeed. You can also add friction and damping to the flight controls to further enhance realism. Each airplane can have it's own force feedback profile, and all forces are optional and fully customizable. Your force feedback experience can be as subtle or intensive as you like.

Version 2.0 has been completely reprogrammed to take advantage of SimConnect, a new feature of FSX. Version 1.0 is still available for those using FS8 / FS9.

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:56 am
Post subject: Re: Vista doesn't support my joystick

Thanks berlopez.
Actually I still have force feedback on the stick.
It's just the programmable feature I needed.
I only used it in CFS1, everything after that was (while becoming more realistic) too much hard work to still be 'fun'.
Thanks anyway.

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:59 am
Post subject: Re: Vista doesn't support my joystick

Shades: What programmable features. Do you mean the buttom features assignments?
Sorry to sound so ignorant.

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:05 am
Post subject: Re: Vista doesn't support my joystick

Not sounding ignorant at all my friend.
We all fly different ways.

The FFB2 buttons have feature assignments built in (as you're aware).

But the stick comes with driver software which allows you to programme macros (where one button can fire several features, in a certain sequence, simultaneously).
It's this software I need and haven't had access to since XP.
There is other macro software available but the FFB app. doesn't interfere with the operating system, which the others I tried did.

For example, I had one button on my stick which I would only use once in a game:-
As soon as I entered any game, the first thing I would do would be to hit this button.
That would re-size my view window; Open a new smaller view window (know as the "Britwindow", after EURO's C.O.) in the corner; Set this window to rear-view (which I could use as a rear-view mirror); Set my Prop-pitch angle; Fuel-mix; and a few other things I can't even remember now.

You could also programme a specific time delay (in ms) between each command firing off, in the chain.

Each button on the stick would have these various macro's assigned to it so, instead of hitting several; commands on the keyboard (or stick) I need only hit one and everything happened at once.
In some maneouvers I had to sacrifice some performance for this strategy to work but this was compensated for by the overall gain.

It's not an easy cop-out to fly this way.
It took me two years to learn to fly like this and the advantages it gave me could only be applied to the Hawker; P51-D; and a little to Spit's.
I was never able to fly German aircraft anyway so I didn't really feel I lost out any more than I would have otherwise.

Early on, I was privileged to 'meet' and have several VERY enjoyable 1 v 1 dogfights with Redwulf1.*
Klaus and I had a private agreement that I would teach him how to fly Hawker and he would teach me how to fly a Focke.
Unfortunately he and his great squad moved on to CFS2 and IL2 before we saw it through.

*A benefit of meeting, and flying with, the EW and EURO squads almost as soon as I started was getting introduced to the best-of-the-best pilots, and squads, early on and picking up tips and tricks in CFS1 it might take others much longer to discover.
Not to mention the sheer pleasure of flying with, and against, these players.
The second ever online game of CFS1 I had was a 1-vs-1 EW_Gorilla.
A rather humbling outing.
Mr. Green


_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6944
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:48 am
Post subject: Re: Vista doesn't support my joystick

- Shades
But the stick comes with driver software which allows you to programme macros (where one button can fire several features, in a certain sequence, simultaneously).


Such as the "OH CRAP SHADOW IS ON MY SIX-Canopy open and bail out" Button... (snickering).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:12 am
Post subject: Re: Vista doesn't support my joystick

And then you realize you're looking at yourself, hugh Shadow? And all you see is the undercarriage of your own plane,Ha,Ha..

Shades I suspected it was something like this; Honestly is out of my leag.
But I did a small search in the web and there are plenty of popsts and sites where you might(?) be able to get them or at least be guided to how?

...Sorry I didn't record any of them.

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Kitform
Bar Maid

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 21, 2005
Posts: 2010
Location: Cleveland. UK.
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:26 pm
Post subject: Re: Vista doesn't support my joystick

Scaredy rats will always find an excuse why not to fly anymore...
Mr. Green Mr. Green Mr. Green
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
401RCAF_HitMan
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 25, 2004
Posts: 1456
Location: Ontario, CANADA (next to the beer store)
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 3:36 pm
Post subject: Re: Vista doesn't support my joystick

you had AceBrit1 in your rear view mirror?..EeeWwwww...lol

oh and let me guess..you saw him first too..LMAO
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
401RCAF_HitMan
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 25, 2004
Posts: 1456
Location: Ontario, CANADA (next to the beer store)
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:37 pm
Post subject: Re: Vista doesn't support my joystick

Hey Shades..try this programe.. pinnacle game profiler..I installed it and set up my FFB2 joystick, you can then use the built in game profiler to edit the buttons or axis with macros etc.. see below pic (my IL2FB profile set up) which is not completed yet. There are a whole lot of settings for every axis and button. You can assign a different profile for any game or flight sim etc...



You can get the trial version here good for 30 days and to buy it is 20 bucks. click here

I will set mine up with IL2 and let you know how it works. Hope this helps ya out bud. Oh yeah, I am running windows 7 so it should also work with Vista.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 5:51 am
Post subject: Re: Vista doesn't support my joystick

Thanks Hitty.
I hadn't heard of that one, maybe new since I last searched(?).
If ever I wanna spend two years of my life learning how to fly CFS again, I'll look it up.
That may have to wait until retirement though.
I'm Win 7 as well now (Home Prem).
Yes, when you're in a room with EURO_ACBrit1 you tend to often find him in your rear-view.
And then it's too late.
First you know about it is often the dull 'Splat!' of a cold Bacon-Buttie hitting yer windshield.

Berlopez,
Thanks bud', done a lot of searching meself when I first mistakenly went to Vista. Probably too rusty now to go back without investing a lot of time again.

Kit'...
SOB!
Razz

Bush',
SOB2!
Only Shadow I remember ever lookin' up skwirrell ass was Drak'.., an' he wuzn't in uniform*!
(One of my major CFS regrets is only getting to fly with him twice. He was one of the folks who helped me learn a great deal, just in a couple of games. Years later I took to teaching others because of people like Draken helping me. Always assumed he was EW too, but I never got to find out as I didn't join until much later. And you never can tell with nana-munchers. They's sneaky sobs!)

*Yer lucky, I seem to have mistakenly deleted my copy of the Shadow Pink-Tutu.


_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  Software
Page 1 of 2
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Go to page 1, 2  Next

Archive Revive
Username:
This is an archived topic - your reply will not be appended here.
Instead, a new topic will be generated in the active forum.
The new topic will provide a reference link to this archived topic.