±Recent Visitors

Recent Visitors to Com-Central!

±User Info-big


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: Angiolillo
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 6587

People Online:
Members: 1
Visitors: 25
Total: 26
Who Is Where:
 Members:
01: silviop15 > Community Forums
 Visitors:
01: Community Forums
02: Photo Gallery
03: Community Forums
04: Home
05: Downloads
06: Community Forums
07: Community Forums
08: Community Forums
09: Community Forums
10: Community Forums
11: Community Forums
12: Community Forums
13: Community Forums
14: Your Account
15: Community Forums
16: Community Forums
17: Community Forums
18: Community Forums
19: Community Forums
20: Community Forums
21: Community Forums
22: Community Forums
23: Home
24: Community Forums
25: Your Account

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
OK, I'm thinking about an upgrade....
Resolve issues with your computer problems here or read about the latest computer parts and information.
Go to page Previous  1, 2
Post new topic    Reply to topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  Hardware

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JG300-Ascout
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 6238
Location: Cyberspace
PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 8:28 am
Post subject: Re: OK, I'm thinking about an upgrade....

- JG300-Stoopy


Of course, it's "Out of Stock". Rolling Eyes

_________________
"All facts go to clearly prove that Shades is a thrice-cursed traitor & mentally deranged person steeped in inveterate enmity toward mankind"
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6392
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 10:36 am
Post subject: Re: OK, I'm thinking about an upgrade....

That looks like a really good system for simming.
Only question I have on any of it would be the power supply.
Personal preference; I like to have spare capacity and there doesn't look to be much for the rest of the components.
I'd like to know the price of it.
The "similar alternatives" are around £500.
If that's the same, buy it quick.

....before it goes "out of stock"!


heheheheh

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
JG300-Ascout
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 6238
Location: Cyberspace
PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 10:45 am
Post subject: Re: OK, I'm thinking about an upgrade....

- Shades
That looks like a really good system for simming.
Only question I have on any of it would be the power supply.
Personal preference; I like to have spare capacity and there doesn't look to be much for the rest of the components.
I'd like to know the price of it.
The "similar alternatives" are around £500.
If that's the same, buy it quick.

....before it goes "out of stock"!


heheheheh


I'm eyeballing this one...

www.newegg.com/Product...6883258099

_________________
"All facts go to clearly prove that Shades is a thrice-cursed traitor & mentally deranged person steeped in inveterate enmity toward mankind"
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5805
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 11:53 am
Post subject: Re: OK, I'm thinking about an upgrade....

- JG300-Ascout


I'm eyeballing this one...

www.newegg.com/Product...6883258099



That one rose to the surface as I filtered by specs, I deferred to the other system due to slightly lower price and also due to aesthetics (I didn't know if the clear case and LED's were your style). Looks like a very good system - BUT - looking at the back, the video card has HDMI outputs and those other high-density connectors that are not a 15-pin VGA sub-D connector like your existing monitor has. Sales geek on the other end of the phone needs to confirm what you need to connect the old monitor.


_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
JG300-Ascout
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 6238
Location: Cyberspace
PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 2:24 pm
Post subject: Re: OK, I'm thinking about an upgrade....

- JG300-Stoopy
- JG300-Ascout


I'm eyeballing this one...

www.newegg.com/Product...6883258099



That one rose to the surface as I filtered by specs, I deferred to the other system due to slightly lower price and also due to aesthetics (I didn't know if the clear case and LED's were your style). Looks like a very good system - BUT - looking at the back, the video card has HDMI outputs and those other high-density connectors that are not a 15-pin VGA sub-D connector like your existing monitor has. Sales geek on the other end of the phone needs to confirm what you need to connect the old monitor.



I don't sweat the farkles and neon...it parks in a tower slot in my office desk so basically out of view.

My current monitor is equipped with a 15 pin thingy, but has an adapter plug on it that steps it up to the plugs I see three of on the website picture. I don't recall how or when I came to have this monitor on my current system or if it just shipped with that adapter. It does not, of course, have pins in all those places...maybe half of them, and a sort of blade on one side that's a "big pin". I can take a pic if that's all sufficiently unclear.

_________________
"All facts go to clearly prove that Shades is a thrice-cursed traitor & mentally deranged person steeped in inveterate enmity toward mankind"
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5805
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 5:14 pm
Post subject: Re: OK, I'm thinking about an upgrade....

- JG300-Ascout

My current monitor is equipped with a 15 pin thingy, but has an adapter plug on it that steps it up to the plugs I see three of on the website picture. I don't recall how or when I came to have this monitor on my current system or if it just shipped with that adapter. It does not, of course, have pins in all those places...maybe half of them, and a sort of blade on one side that's a "big pin". I can take a pic if that's all sufficiently unclear.


Yes it is almost but not quite perfectly mostly sufficiently unclear particularly considering I have been out on my deck in the hot sun for hours BBQ'ing and now have consumed too many smoked pork ribs and ice cold Yeungling beers BUUUUURRRRRRRRRRRRRRRP I have been frustrated by those stupid adaptors before and would hate to see it happen to you as well HAARRRRRRRUUUPPPPPP ahhhhh except for these connectors and the mischief they cause this was a good way to wrap up the weekend and she looks like a good system ready to rock & roll.


_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
JG300-Ascout
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 6238
Location: Cyberspace
PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 5:39 pm
Post subject: Re: OK, I'm thinking about an upgrade....

- JG300-Stoopy
- JG300-Ascout

My current monitor is equipped with a 15 pin thingy, but has an adapter plug on it that steps it up to the plugs I see three of on the website picture. I don't recall how or when I came to have this monitor on my current system or if it just shipped with that adapter. It does not, of course, have pins in all those places...maybe half of them, and a sort of blade on one side that's a "big pin". I can take a pic if that's all sufficiently unclear.


Yes it is almost but not quite perfectly mostly sufficiently unclear particularly considering I have been out on my deck in the hot sun for hours BBQ'ing and now have consumed too many smoked pork ribs and ice cold Yeungling beers BUUUUURRRRRRRRRRRRRRRP I have been frustrated by those stupid adaptors before and would hate to see it happen to you as well HAARRRRRRRUUUPPPPPP ahhhhh except for these connectors and the mischief they cause this was a good way to wrap up the weekend and she looks like a good system ready to rock & roll.



I don't know what any of the bull hockey means, but looking at this article:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/..._Interface

...the pin arrangement on the adapter (the one that maled into the female receptacle on my system unit) exactly matches the one for the DVI-A at the bottom of this image from that article:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/..._Types.svg


WTF that means I do not know. Rolling Eyes

_________________
"All facts go to clearly prove that Shades is a thrice-cursed traitor & mentally deranged person steeped in inveterate enmity toward mankind"
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
JG300-Ascout
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 6238
Location: Cyberspace
PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 5:51 pm
Post subject: Re: OK, I'm thinking about an upgrade....

P.S. I just read the mouth full of dookey on the monitor front and it say:

"HD Entertainement with DVI-D and HDCP"

"VGA, DVI-D, S-video, component, and composite video inputs"

_________________
"All facts go to clearly prove that Shades is a thrice-cursed traitor & mentally deranged person steeped in inveterate enmity toward mankind"
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5805
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:35 pm
Post subject: Re: OK, I'm thinking about an upgrade....

OK you will likely need to use the DVI-D adapter that the system OUGHT to come with (but if you're gonna order over the phone I'd pressure the sales geek to make sure you get one).

The video card has both a DVI-D and a DVI-I port, your monitor supports DVI-D but I'm not sure how so I suppose the DVI-D to VGA adapter is the way to go. Make sure the VGA cable that will plug into the adapter, is the correct gender.

Probably overthinking this but there is some info:

DVI-D Adapter:
www.amazon.com/Male-DV...B007EA48MA

DVI-I adapter:
www.newegg.com/Product...6814998101

Some specs on a typcial manufacturer's implementation of the video card (not saying this will be the exact brand in your system)

nvidia.custhelp.com/ap...d-dvi-d%3F

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
JG300-Ascout
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 6238
Location: Cyberspace
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:47 pm
Post subject: Re: OK, I'm thinking about an upgrade....

It is done. Pulled trigger on system above, plus monitor and new flatbed scanner. My printer may still be compatible. Can always order later.

It should be smokin' hot!

I'll be back gaming soon!


_________________
"All facts go to clearly prove that Shades is a thrice-cursed traitor & mentally deranged person steeped in inveterate enmity toward mankind"
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Reply to topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  Hardware
Page 2 of 2
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Go to page Previous  1, 2



Jump to:  


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum