±Recent Visitors

Recent Visitors to Com-Central!

±User Info-big


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: freaknikz
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 6598

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 69
Total: 69
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Community Forums
02: Community Forums
03: Community Forums
04: Community Forums
05: Community Forums
06: Photo Gallery
07: Community Forums
08: Community Forums
09: Photo Gallery
10: Community Forums
11: Community Forums
12: Community Forums
13: Photo Gallery
14: Community Forums
15: Photo Gallery
16: Community Forums
17: Community Forums
18: Community Forums
19: Community Forums
20: Home
21: Community Forums
22: Community Forums
23: Photo Gallery
24: Community Forums
25: Community Forums
26: Photo Gallery
27: Photo Gallery
28: Community Forums
29: Community Forums
30: Community Forums
31: Community Forums
32: Community Forums
33: CPGlang
34: Downloads
35: Community Forums
36: Community Forums
37: Community Forums
38: Community Forums
39: Community Forums
40: Community Forums
41: Community Forums
42: Community Forums
43: Community Forums
44: Community Forums
45: Community Forums
46: Photo Gallery
47: Community Forums
48: Community Forums
49: Community Forums
50: Community Forums
51: Community Forums
52: Community Forums
53: Home
54: Home
55: Community Forums
56: Community Forums
57: Community Forums
58: Community Forums
59: Community Forums
60: Community Forums
61: Community Forums
62: Community Forums
63: Community Forums
64: Photo Gallery
65: Photo Gallery
66: Community Forums
67: Community Forums
68: CPGlang
69: Community Forums

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
FSX SP1 Installed? :: Archived
A forum for Microsoft's Flight Simulator X
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  FSX

Topic Archived View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
EURO_Talus
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 31, 2006
Posts: 93
Location: HMP Wandsworth, Wandsworth, SW18 3HS
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 4:45 pm
Post subject: FSX SP1 Installed?

I re-installed FSX with much difficulty a couple of months ago (had to uninstall the installer first). Now I can't remember if I re-installed SP1. When I try, I get the usual freezes, and I don't want to get back into msconfig, disable the non-microsoft services, do the prefetech, un and re-install, blah blah.

Is there a simple way to tell if my FSX install is running with SP1?

I also have Acceleration Pack recently installed (another nightmare), so I won't need SP2.

Thanks for any help.

_________________
"Let's put a smile on that face!"
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5832
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 5:01 pm
Post subject: Re: FSX SP1 Installed?

Pretty sure that if you have Accelleration installed, since that puts you at the SP2 level, there's no need to worry about SP1.

Matter of fact I remember some dialogue that Accell would be all-inclusive in that regard, so you're OK. And I don't think SP1 would actually install if you tried because it would see a different, newer version.

If you go to your FSX main folder, right-click on FSX.exe, and then look at the "version" tab, under "File Version" it should say:

10.0.61637.0 (FSX-Xpack.20070926-1421)

(at least that's what mine says and it's all up to speed).

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
EURO_Talus
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 31, 2006
Posts: 93
Location: HMP Wandsworth, Wandsworth, SW18 3HS
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:48 pm
Post subject: Re: FSX SP1 Installed?

Thanks for the quick reply. A few minutes later, I was reading your reply to EURO_ACBRIT1 who discovered he didn't have SP1 installed. I did, and the Acceleration pack does seem to take care of SP2 and probably won't install without SP1. So we are good. Thanks again!

_________________
"Let's put a smile on that face!"
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5832
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 7:33 pm
Post subject: Re: FSX SP1 Installed?

Always welcome, glad to help!


_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Uhu_Fledermaus
Aircraft Demolition Expert

Offline Offline
Joined: Nov 27, 2004
Posts: 4369
Location: Blaricum, The Netherlands ~GMT+1
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 2:56 am
Post subject: Re: FSX SP1 Installed?

Great job Stoopy!

much appreciated!

just for informational purposes :

When you have a "clean" fsX install,
fsX Acceleration will install SP1 and SP2 is incorporated with it,
Also when having previously mentioned there is NO need to get SP2 seperatly as it won't install anyway Laughing

SP2 will only install for the ones that have fsX+ SP1
SP2 is NOT needed for fsX Acceleration

Another thing to look at is to make shure you have all the updates for the .Net Framework 2.0 and 3.0 as that seems to help a wee bit when trying to install fsX and related items.


fled
Cool
Back to top
View user's profile ICQ Number MSN Messenger Photo Gallery
EURO_Talus
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 31, 2006
Posts: 93
Location: HMP Wandsworth, Wandsworth, SW18 3HS
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:10 am
Post subject: Re: FSX SP1 Installed?

There is a utility you can download from M$ called "Windows Installer Clean Up". I used this, on the advice of Bombay, to successfully re-install FSX awhile ago. I was able to install Acceleration over FSX by turning off all non M$ services in msconfig, clearing the prefetch, and restarting. Although it takes them 45 minutes to explain this, it seems to be a basically good way to try to (re) install FSX. If that doesn't work, then I think you use the installer clean up to remove the previous...installer...and start over as above. I'm lucky it works at all. BTW, the acceleration pack really isn't worth the money.

Anyway, thanks again, all, and Stoopy, you saved me a butt-load of time and hassle. Smile

_________________
"Let's put a smile on that face!"
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5832
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 6:19 pm
Post subject: Re: FSX SP1 Installed?

Anything to help a fellow Com-C pilot!

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
EURO_Talus
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 31, 2006
Posts: 93
Location: HMP Wandsworth, Wandsworth, SW18 3HS
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 8:35 pm
Post subject: Re: FSX SP1 Installed?

Hey, you're right Fled...there is a service pack for .Net Framework 2.0 and 3.0 I just installed. Would have thought they would have let me know about that with my automatic updates. Guess not. Well, we'll see if it re-starts in the morning. Thanks again, lads, for all the help.

Talus

_________________
"Let's put a smile on that face!"
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  FSX
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT - 6 Hours

Archive Revive
Username:
This is an archived topic - your reply will not be appended here.
Instead, a new topic will be generated in the active forum.
The new topic will provide a reference link to this archived topic.