±Recent Visitors

Recent Visitors to Com-Central!
How to regenerate a new FSX.cfg :: Archived
A forum for Microsoft's Flight Simulator X
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  FSX

Topic Archived View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 11:28 am
Post subject: How to regenerate a new FSX.cfg

Can anyone guide me as to how to regenerate/ create a new .cfg for FSX, Can't find it. done all sorts of searches, even contacted MS support, they can't help.

If I remember correctly in the Fs9 days one use to hold 1 or 2 keys while the game was loading in order to do this, can't remember which keys.

Eventough I can't find it the game works
I am running Vista

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 05, 2005
Posts: 5840
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 1:17 pm
Post subject: Re: How to regenerate a new FSX.cfg

Actually I believe you delete (or better yet,, rename) the existing FSX.CFG and a new one will be built when FSX starts up the next time.

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 1:45 pm
Post subject: Re: How to regenerate a new FSX.cfg

Stuppy: Yes, I know... I have nnow restarted FSX 4X since last night in order to find it.

In Vista your are supposed to find it:

C:\User\y comp.name\ Application Data (Is not there)\ Microsoft\FSX\FSX.cfg (isn't there either)

Really hope I don't have to do a reinstall.

Stragely the sim works perfectly.

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Kitform
Bar Maid

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 22, 2005
Posts: 2010
Location: Cleveland. UK.
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:17 pm
Post subject: Re: How to regenerate a new FSX.cfg

Silly question but you do have 'show hidden files' turned on ???

I ask because you can't see application data, you need this for other software to function.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:28 am
Post subject: Re: How to regenerate a new FSX.cfg

That was the problem my hidden files was not turned on, It took me a while to figure it out. With the help of all you guys I found it now; Thanks

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  FSX
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT - 6 Hours

Archive Revive
Username:
This is an archived topic - your reply will not be appended here.
Instead, a new topic will be generated in the active forum.
The new topic will provide a reference link to this archived topic.