Tank Insignia
-> AFV News Discussion Board

#1: Tank Insignia Author: armyjunk2 PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 4:21 pm
    ----
Hello everyone, Does anyone here know if this is a correct insignia on this tank, the colors seem to be reversed, the "normal" US insignia for the period would have been a red circle, white star, blue surrounding circle. Don maybe you can help.

#2: Re: Tank Insignia Author: SHAWN PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:18 pm
    ----
What museum is this, etc.? What did the museum say it was marked to be?

You are correct, it is a variation of the 3-color star, in use until 1941. I would think that the markings are incorrect, as the first M3 left the factory in March of 41. I cant see it, cant verifiy... I wouldnt think it to be an early M3... it has protectoscope fitted to the front hatches, fitted to most M3's produced after 1941...
the 3 color star fell out of use during 1941, so I wouldnt think this to be marked correctly...
I am just a lowly cook...

#3: Re: Tank Insignia Author: armyjunk2 PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:36 pm
    ----
its at the Patton Museum, its in a December 8th 1941 Philippine exhibit. Its actually the wrong tank but I am more curious about the insignia. I really thought it was nice someone remembered the early Philippine Campaign.

#4: Re: Tank Insignia Author: C_Sherman PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:09 pm
    ----
Hi,

That star coloration is correct for a certain pre/early war period. The version you are thinking of (blue around the outside of the white star) was an Army Air Corps marking used on aircraft. The red surround was often seen on armored vehicles/tanks on training exercises in the US. I can't recall if the use of that star continued into North Africa, but it didn't last long there if it did.