lend-lease Matildas to Russia?
-> AFV News Discussion Board

#1: lend-lease Matildas to Russia? Author: gregv PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:30 pm
    ----
hello all

just watched the three-part documentary "Stalingrad", and I noticed what appeared to be Matildas in Russian use. I've never heard of this before, but then again I am no armour expert. Of course, this could be a mistaken use of stock footage, but where would Matildas ever have operated in the snow? You'd think that the British would want all they could get for North Africa at the time.

any info appreciated.

greg v.

#2: Re: lend-lease Matildas to Russia? Author: SabotLocation: Kentucky PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:51 pm
    ----
I believe Britain sent a number of their tanks to Russia. Even ones like Covenator, Churchill, etc.

#3: Re: lend-lease Matildas to Russia? Author: bsmartLocation: Central Maryland PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 11:07 pm
    ----
I remember reading that the British sent Matildas and Churchills among other tanks.

The Soviets did not like the Matilda or the Churchill. The covered trackways would get clogged with mud (and snow) and hinder operation.

#4: Re: lend-lease Matildas to Russia? Author: Chris_CLocation: WV, USA PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 11:11 pm
    ----
The Russian Battlefield says the USSR received over 1000 Matildas.

#5: Re: Lend-Lease Matildas to Russia... among other Author: George_BradfordLocation: Cambridge, Ontario PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 11:12 pm
    ----
Hi All;

An EXCELLENT web site that cover all Lend-Lease shipments to Russia can be found at:-

www.o5m6.de

Oliver Missing of Germany gives figures, dates, photo, illustrations, you name it. Even a map showing the routes they used to reach Russia.

George Bradford

#6: Re: lend-lease Matildas to Russia? Author: gregv PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 2:23 am
    ----
thanks guys!

very interesting, I had no idea.

cheers

greg v.