±Recent Visitors

Recent Visitors to Com-Central!

±User Info-big


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: nbrich1
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 6596

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 95
Total: 95
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Community Forums
02: Community Forums
03: Community Forums
04: Community Forums
05: Community Forums
06: Community Forums
07: Community Forums
08: Home
09: Community Forums
10: Community Forums
11: Photo Gallery
12: Home
13: Community Forums
14: Photo Gallery
15: Photo Gallery
16: Community Forums
17: Community Forums
18: Photo Gallery
19: Community Forums
20: Community Forums
21: Community Forums
22: Community Forums
23: Community Forums
24: Community Forums
25: Community Forums
26: Community Forums
27: Community Forums
28: Community Forums
29: Community Forums
30: Photo Gallery
31: Community Forums
32: Community Forums
33: Community Forums
34: Community Forums
35: Community Forums
36: Community Forums
37: Community Forums
38: Home
39: Community Forums
40: Community Forums
41: Community Forums
42: Community Forums
43: Community Forums
44: Community Forums
45: Photo Gallery
46: Home
47: Community Forums
48: Community Forums
49: Photo Gallery
50: Your Account
51: Community Forums
52: Member Screenshots
53: Photo Gallery
54: Your Account
55: Community Forums
56: Community Forums
57: Community Forums
58: Community Forums
59: Community Forums
60: Community Forums
61: Community Forums
62: Member Screenshots
63: Community Forums
64: Community Forums
65: Community Forums
66: Photo Gallery
67: Home
68: Community Forums
69: Community Forums
70: Photo Gallery
71: Community Forums
72: Search and Rescue
73: Community Forums
74: Community Forums
75: Community Forums
76: Community Forums
77: Photo Gallery
78: Community Forums
79: Community Forums
80: Photo Gallery
81: Community Forums
82: Community Forums
83: Community Forums
84: Member Screenshots
85: Community Forums
86: Community Forums
87: Community Forums
88: Community Forums
89: Community Forums
90: Community Forums
91: Community Forums
92: Photo Gallery
93: Community Forums
94: Community Forums
95: Photo Gallery

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
Bad Ram or timing? :: Archived
Resolve issues with your computer problems here or read about the latest computer parts and information.
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  Hardware

Topic Archived View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Shadow_Homfixr
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 527
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL-USA
PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 8:12 pm
Post subject: Bad Ram or timing?

I was noticing things didn't run so smooth on this new machine so I checked the ram using CPU_Z and I see that it has two different timings maybe different on each stick? I'm not sure what I'm looking at . Some explanation on this subject would be greatly appreciated.

%20%20

This ram is suppose to 5-5-5-18 and not sure about the voltage. I'm not sure what the 4-4-4-13 is.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
bsmart
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 22, 2006
Posts: 2516
Location: Central Maryland
PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 5:24 am
Post subject: Re: Bad Ram or timing?

The two memory sticks are different speeds. What does the machines spec sheet say is required. As long as the memory meets that requirement it shouldn't matter if it is faster but I have always believed in putting matched memory into a machine

As a quick opinion I believe stick 1 is below requirements at 270MHz.

_________________
Bob Smart ([email protected])
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6944
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 6:42 am
Post subject: Re: Bad Ram or timing?

I agree with Bob. Both sticks should match IMO or at the very least come closer than those are. A computer by default will 'slow' down the faster ram to the slower rams speed, so in fact you're running at the slower less optimal speed.

Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Kitform
Bar Maid

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 21, 2005
Posts: 2010
Location: Cleveland. UK.
PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 7:20 pm
Post subject: Re: Bad Ram or timing?

And yet, I don't see a problem with Homey's ram.

I see a matched pair or closely matched sticks of 2gig each running in dual access mode at a FSB of 800MHz Total 4gig on-board.

IIRC 1.8v is correct for that type of Corsair ram sticks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shadow_Homfixr
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 527
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL-USA
PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 7:23 pm
Post subject: Re: Bad Ram or timing?

But both of these were bought as a matched pair. Bought at the same time in the same package. Shocked So maybe one stick is bad? Mobo supports up to 1066mhz ram..these are were supposed to be 800 mhz but I see them running slower than that. MoBo ASUS M2N-SLI Deuxe supports :

Dual channel memory architecture
4 x 240-pin DIMM, support max. 8GB DDR2 800/667/533 ECC and non-ECC, un-buffered memory

MOBO Specs here:

usa.asus.com/product.a...ap7crpBaQE

I know I said it supports 1066 and it is suppose to with the new BIOS that is installed but this ram is supposed to be only 800 which should be fine.

Ram is :

Corsair Dual Channel TWINX 4096MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz Memory (2 x 2048MB)

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
Kitform
Bar Maid

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 21, 2005
Posts: 2010
Location: Cleveland. UK.
PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 7:30 pm
Post subject: Re: Bad Ram or timing?

- Shadow_Homfixr
Corsair Dual Channel TWINX 4096MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz Memory (2 x 2048MB)


And that's exactly what you've got IMHO.

Although your mobo is capable of a FSB of 1066MHz, the memory fitted is only capable of a speed of 800MHz.

Therefore 2x400MHz = a FSB of 800MHz
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
bsmart
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 22, 2006
Posts: 2516
Location: Central Maryland
PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 7:56 pm
Post subject: Re: Bad Ram or timing?

Doesn't the one screen say that stick one is only checking out as 270 Mhz? That bothers me. If the two sticks were part of the same package I would be talking with whoever I bought them from.

I'll admit I don't know Corsair that well (I've seen them at the local store but that's all) When I was putting machines together (mainly laptops) I preferred Kingston or PNY but it has been more years than I want to think about since I did that on a regular basis

_________________
Bob Smart ([email protected])
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 3:50 am
Post subject: Re: Bad Ram or timing?

Homey, I've had this before with Asus auto detection (on my soon-to-be-replaced current system in fact).

I bought 2 sticks of DDR2 4-4-4-12 but my BIOS auto-detected both at 5-5-5-15.
Nothing would work.
Wouldn't even boot properly and, when it did, it would shut down shortly after.
Took me ages to figure it out and even then I couldn't do it on my own.

In the end I manually configured the timings in my BIOS and it's run fine since.

Well, actually it hasn't. It's been a pile of poo. But that's mostly down to Vista, not the memory.



[edit: I see what Bob's talking about now (not used CPU-Z before). They do appear to be two different sticks, which are not even the same RAM, let alone 'matched. The first column is the memory stick in slot 1, the second column is slot 2.]

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Kitform
Bar Maid

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 21, 2005
Posts: 2010
Location: Cleveland. UK.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 7:02 am
Post subject: Re: Bad Ram or timing?

The JEDEC figures are just the timings that the ram will operate at, in the case of Corsair ram you get the lower figure and the higher figure.
The older version of cpuz also gave an EPP figure which should be the same frequency as the higher JEDEC figure.

Running the memory at a lower FSB (JEDEC#1) has lower clocks per cycle,
4-4-4-13. Running at a higher frequency (JEDEC#2) will give you clocks of 5-5-5-18.
If the EPP figure was displayed it would probably read in the order of 4-4-4-12
(The above timings are taken from my machine, not Homey's info above)

Using the SPD tab gives indepth info on each stick of ram, as I look at Homey's specs...I see two identical DDR2 2gig sticks, one in slot 1 and one in slot 3.
The better tab to use to see the actual speed of the memory is the memory tab Smile This will show how both memory sticks are seen by the mobo.

Since the memory is running in dual channel mode the DRAM frequency is shown at half the actual speed of the FSB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shadow_Homfixr
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 527
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL-USA
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:12 am
Post subject: Re: Bad Ram or timing?

So Kit what u are saying is all is fine with the ram? Every now and again I'm getting like a lag situation when I'm running JOPS but I know is isn't lag. It's like the video just skips a beat or two. I noticed this also when watching videos on you tube and other sites. I have two 9800 GT in SLI mode and 12 megs down and 3 megs up on the net so I didn't figure it was lag. My other puter which has almost the same specs as this one except for MOBO runs smooooth with Windows 7 Ultimate but this one is kinda quirky at times. Anyway I'll keep checking things and the ram was the first idea so on to other ideas. Thnx for the info guys even tho I didn't understand most of it...lol.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:24 am
Post subject: Re: Bad Ram or timing?

Gotcha Kit.
Be ready for my attempts at overclocking my new system.
Might need you on standby.
Can never get the hang of timings.

Razz

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Kitform
Bar Maid

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 21, 2005
Posts: 2010
Location: Cleveland. UK.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:26 am
Post subject: Re: Bad Ram or timing?

As far as I'm concerned you don't have a problem with your memory.

It look like there is a bit of confusion as to the info that cpuz is producing...The JEDEC#1 and JEDEC#2 figures apply only to the ram stick in slot one and again apply only to the ram stick installed in slot 3.

It is not showing you that one stick of memory is running at 270MHz and the other stick is running at 400MHz.

They are both running at 400MHz with a timing of 5-5-5-18
When you look at your memory tab you see each stick of ram is running at 400MHz with an overall timing of 5-5-5-18 with a clock cycle of 23.
Since you are running thr ram in dual channel mode, your front side bus is running at 800MHz.

I don't see a problem with it at all.


Now the glitches/stutters you get in jops.
With your machine specs you obviously wouldn't expect to get glitches on the graphics when playing games, especially jops.

There are IMHO three reasons why you may get graphical issues...

You first have to determine what the fault is...Is it lag...Is it graphics...Or is it sound...

Lag...
Doesn't matter how big you bandwidth is...The key factor is PING.
You could have 50meg up and down but if you have a high ping your going to get lag.

Graphics...
Normally cured by running the latest video drivers for your graphics card.
One vendor may not suit all, Geforce drivers seem the best.

Sound...
This for me is probably the cause of your glitches/stutters...You have on-board sound...It's a killer for games unless you can manage it properly.
Make sure you have the latest drivers installed.
Run DXDIAG and go to each sound tab in turn and reduce the slider down to basic acceleration.
Go into the game and reduce the sound quality to about 22KHz, you won't notice the difference.

If you have done all the above then I would expect your graphical issues to be resolved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shadow_Homfixr
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 527
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL-USA
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 6:36 pm
Post subject: Re: Bad Ram or timing?

Cool Thnx Kit! I'll give that a go. I have latest drivers for my graphic cards and I install the latest drivers for my sound last week and I could not get my mic to work so I reverted back to the old drivers for the sound. I'll let you know the outcome in a few days as I won't have time to play JOPS till I get project done for my grand babies.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
Kitform
Bar Maid

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 21, 2005
Posts: 2010
Location: Cleveland. UK.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 7:04 pm
Post subject: Re: Bad Ram or timing?

- bsmart
Doesn't the one screen say that stick one is only checking out as 270 Mhz? That bothers me. If the two sticks were part of the same package I would be talking with whoever I bought them from.


Hi Bob,
If you look in the top left of the 1st pic Homey posted, you'll see that it's slot 1 that's providing the info only.
The second pic is only for slot 3 ram.
If you compare JEDEC timing between both pics, that is JEDEC#1 pic 1 and JEDEC#1 pic two, you'll see they are identical, likewise JEDEC#2 between both pics is also identical.

cpuz provides timing for the two JEDEC frequencies and it depends on how fast the FSB is running as to how close to the optimum 'clocks' you can achieve.

In all honesty, we are only concerned with how fast we can run the FSB as a fast FSB equates to a 'fast' computer since CPU to MMU has always been a bottle neck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  Hardware
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT - 6 Hours

Archive Revive
Username:
This is an archived topic - your reply will not be appended here.
Instead, a new topic will be generated in the active forum.
The new topic will provide a reference link to this archived topic.