±Recent Visitors

Recent Visitors to Com-Central!

±User Info-big


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: cgsimpson
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 6645

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 257
Total: 257
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Your Account
02: Community Forums
03: Photo Gallery
04: Home
05: Photo Gallery
06: Home
07: Home
08: Home
09: Home
10: Member Screenshots
11: Home
12: Community Forums
13: CPGlang
14: Community Forums
15: CPGlang
16: Community Forums
17: Community Forums
18: Home
19: News
20: Member Screenshots
21: Home
22: Home
23: Home
24: News
25: Photo Gallery
26: Community Forums
27: Community Forums
28: CPGlang
29: Photo Gallery
30: Home
31: Community Forums
32: Community Forums
33: Home
34: Community Forums
35: Community Forums
36: Home
37: Home
38: Community Forums
39: Community Forums
40: Community Forums
41: Community Forums
42: CPGlang
43: Community Forums
44: Member Screenshots
45: News Archive
46: Home
47: Community Forums
48: Community Forums
49: Home
50: Home
51: Home
52: Home
53: Photo Gallery
54: Photo Gallery
55: CPGlang
56: CPGlang
57: Community Forums
58: Community Forums
59: Community Forums
60: Community Forums
61: Community Forums
62: Community Forums
63: Community Forums
64: Home
65: Community Forums
66: Community Forums
67: Tell a Friend
68: Community Forums
69: Home
70: Home
71: Community Forums
72: Community Forums
73: Community Forums
74: Community Forums
75: Community Forums
76: Community Forums
77: Community Forums
78: Community Forums
79: Community Forums
80: CPGlang
81: Community Forums
82: CPGlang
83: Home
84: Photo Gallery
85: Community Forums
86: Photo Gallery
87: Community Forums
88: Community Forums
89: Community Forums
90: Home
91: Community Forums
92: Community Forums
93: Community Forums
94: Home
95: Community Forums
96: Community Forums
97: Community Forums
98: Community Forums
99: Community Forums
100: Home
101: Home
102: Home
103: Home
104: Home
105: Photo Gallery
106: Home
107: Community Forums
108: Home
109: Community Forums
110: Community Forums
111: Community Forums
112: Photo Gallery
113: Home
114: Community Forums
115: Community Forums
116: Community Forums
117: Community Forums
118: Home
119: CPGlang
120: Community Forums
121: Community Forums
122: Home
123: Community Forums
124: Community Forums
125: Community Forums
126: Community Forums
127: Photo Gallery
128: Community Forums
129: Home
130: Downloads
131: Community Forums
132: Home
133: Community Forums
134: Home
135: Member Screenshots
136: Home
137: Community Forums
138: Community Forums
139: Community Forums
140: Community Forums
141: Community Forums
142: Community Forums
143: CPGlang
144: CPGlang
145: Home
146: Home
147: Community Forums
148: Home
149: Home
150: Community Forums
151: Community Forums
152: CPGlang
153: Community Forums
154: Community Forums
155: Photo Gallery
156: Photo Gallery
157: Home
158: Community Forums
159: CPGlang
160: Home
161: CPGlang
162: Community Forums
163: Community Forums
164: Downloads
165: Community Forums
166: Member Screenshots
167: CPGlang
168: Community Forums
169: CPGlang
170: CPGlang
171: News
172: Community Forums
173: Home
174: CPGlang
175: Community Forums
176: Home
177: News Archive
178: CPGlang
179: Community Forums
180: Downloads
181: Community Forums
182: News
183: Photo Gallery
184: Community Forums
185: Community Forums
186: CPGlang
187: Community Forums
188: Community Forums
189: Community Forums
190: Home
191: CPGlang
192: CPGlang
193: Community Forums
194: Home
195: Home
196: Home
197: CPGlang
198: Photo Gallery
199: Your Account
200: Home
201: Home
202: Home
203: Home
204: Home
205: Home
206: Community Forums
207: Community Forums
208: CPGlang
209: Community Forums
210: Home
211: Photo Gallery
212: Community Forums
213: CPGlang
214: Community Forums
215: Home
216: Photo Gallery
217: Community Forums
218: Home
219: Community Forums
220: Community Forums
221: News Archive
222: Community Forums
223: Photo Gallery
224: Community Forums
225: Home
226: Home
227: Community Forums
228: Community Forums
229: News
230: Community Forums
231: CPGlang
232: Photo Gallery
233: Community Forums
234: Community Forums
235: Home
236: Home
237: CPGlang
238: Community Forums
239: CPGlang
240: Home
241: Community Forums
242: Home
243: Community Forums
244: Home
245: Photo Gallery
246: Community Forums
247: Photo Gallery
248: Community Forums
249: Home
250: Community Forums
251: Community Forums
252: CPGlang
253: Community Forums
254: Community Forums
255: Home
256: Community Forums
257: Community Forums

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
Vista? :: Archived
This is a forum for Software related items such as OS', Virus notices, cool or free programs, etc. Gaming software should go in the gaming folder pertaining to the current info.
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  Software

Topic Archived View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JG300-fr8ycat
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 13, 2005
Posts: 1528
Location: Los Angeles
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:04 pm
Post subject: Vista?

So is anybody here running Vista? If so hows the FS's working?

I know about the peripheral and certain game shortcomings, just looking for a gamers perspective. Been looking at buying new system and I would prefer not to get Vista at the moment but unfortunately the system (like many now) I'm looking at now comes only with Vista.
Back to top
View user's profile MSN Messenger Photo Gallery
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 07, 2005
Posts: 6475
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:58 pm
Post subject: Re: Vista?

I'm at the early stages of planning a new system for songwriting which will be a Vista based machine.
I'm keeping my current rig but there's no way in hell it's going anywhere near Vista at least until after SP2 when I will re-assess the situation.
SP1 was half built before they even released Vista to deal with the bugs they knew about back then.

My new system will be quite focussed so I will be able to track and deal with any OS bugs relatively easily so I'm not so worried and I think it will actually enhance the purpose behind building it.

All the hardware going into it will be Vista capable.

Then I'm gonna cross those itty-bitty lil skwirrell fingers and hope for the best!

Smile

=======
edit: Fr8y I strongly urge you to think about making your own rather than buying. It really isn't hard and you will get a lot more out of it. If you really can't, that's fine but the pre-builders will put a load of crud on there besides Vista and I would consider at least doing a clean install. At which point it would make sense to install XP (as you're a fan) instead of Vista. Make sure you get hard copies of any software you may need to re-install in the future. Otherwise you've paid for something you can't re-use.

_________________
Skwerl's place.

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i9-9900k (o/c 4.9GHz); COOLING > BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4;
MOBO > ASUS PRIME Z390-A; RAM > 2x32GB Corsair LPX 2666MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5;
AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music (plus - Universal Audio UAD2 Quad Custom accelerator);
HDD > 3x1TB+ M.2. SSDs; LCD > DELL - S2419HGF (1920x1080);
PSU > 650W be quiet Straight Power 11 - 80+ Gold;
CASE > BeQuiet! SILENT BASE 601; OS > Windows 11 Home Advanced (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
JG300-fr8ycat
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 13, 2005
Posts: 1528
Location: Los Angeles
PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:51 pm
Post subject: Re: Vista?

I'll probably just wait til the SP2 for Vista comes out and hopefully by then there will be more support for more hardware.

In the past I have built 2 systems but that was back when the monetary savings were substantial and I didn't mind pounding my head against the wall. Anymore the little savings compared to the possible headaches of researching compatibilty issues and trying to figure out what's the best etc. just doesn't appeal to me anymore.

My last 2 systems (desktop and laptop) have been Dells and I have been completely happy with them. I did wipe out the HD and do a fresh install as soon as my desktop arrived but didn't have to on my laptop because I told them not to put anything on it but the operating system when I ordered it.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile MSN Messenger Photo Gallery
Shadow_Banshee
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Feb 03, 2005
Posts: 575

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 12:24 am
Post subject: Re: Vista?

i have 2 friends with serious vista problems the one cant connect via her isp modem and tiscali internet saying theres no fix until end of march at the earliest, unless she goes out and buys a new model, the others got various driver issuse and serious instability in certain games, i for one wont be rushing out to go vista until most of the issues are completly irioned out



www.tiscali.co.uk/foru...erid=18669

forums.guru3d.com/show...p?t=213538

forum.notebookreview.c...p?t=101664

_________________
Lay me place and bake me Pie
I'm starving for me Gravy
Back to top
View user's profile
Shadow_Homfixr
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 05, 2005
Posts: 541
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL-USA
PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 4:06 am
Post subject: Re: Vista?

Fr8ycat,before buying a puter off the self consider buying one from Newegg.com or another site with a good name as u can order the puter with any spec u want---even OS software! I think you will be much happier in the long run!!!! You might even consider building one...lol like I was talked into by Banshee....lol, but for what I would have spent off the self I got a much better system and glad I went thru the learning experience!! Oh yea by the way it really wasn't all that hard to do!

www.newegg.com/

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 07, 2005
Posts: 6475
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 9:14 am
Post subject: Re: Vista?

For a low-medium performance system I don't think you'll save much.
If you want a high performance gaming system there's still loads to be saved.
Dell & co use proprietary hardware too which isn't necessarilly as good as stuff you'd buy yourself. They advertise the graphic cards but you never hear what mobo, RAM, psu they're using.
They also install a load of crap in their pre-install software.
before I built this rig, my last one was a Dell.
I had to re-format and re-install everything one day.
When I'd got everything back to how it should be I checked my storage and I was 5Gb shy of what Dell had put on there.
I double-checked it and had everything back that I'd put on, the rest was all their advertising rubbish.
Plus will you get the software discs from them; XP, etc?
Seems most of these twerps only give out their own back-up installation discs now.

_________________
Skwerl's place.

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i9-9900k (o/c 4.9GHz); COOLING > BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4;
MOBO > ASUS PRIME Z390-A; RAM > 2x32GB Corsair LPX 2666MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5;
AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music (plus - Universal Audio UAD2 Quad Custom accelerator);
HDD > 3x1TB+ M.2. SSDs; LCD > DELL - S2419HGF (1920x1080);
PSU > 650W be quiet Straight Power 11 - 80+ Gold;
CASE > BeQuiet! SILENT BASE 601; OS > Windows 11 Home Advanced (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 10:31 am
Post subject: Re: Vista?

Smile I went out shopping specifically for a new computer for FSX purposes, got me a Fujitsu Siemens with Vista Home premium Pre installed
Intel(R)core(tm)2cpu 4300@1,800Hz
2 CPU'S~1.8GHz
memory 1022MB RAM
Direcft X10
Nvidia Ge Force 7500LE
Realtek (HIgh Definition Audio)
Began by installing the sim and getting error messages and calling M.S Support and cheking forums for advice on these. At M.S.(Support) I found out after a while that Vista is as new to them as for the rest of us.
Finally updated drivers and the sim works ok, a bit jumpy on the frames, but that depends on your personal settings,all in all in works ok but does not compare to how Fs9 performed in my old machine with XP

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 07, 2005
Posts: 6475
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 1:45 pm
Post subject: Re: Vista?

Stoop's posted some tips for improving performance in the relevant forums.
May be of some help with your new machine.
Wink

_________________
Skwerl's place.

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i9-9900k (o/c 4.9GHz); COOLING > BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4;
MOBO > ASUS PRIME Z390-A; RAM > 2x32GB Corsair LPX 2666MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5;
AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music (plus - Universal Audio UAD2 Quad Custom accelerator);
HDD > 3x1TB+ M.2. SSDs; LCD > DELL - S2419HGF (1920x1080);
PSU > 650W be quiet Straight Power 11 - 80+ Gold;
CASE > BeQuiet! SILENT BASE 601; OS > Windows 11 Home Advanced (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 05, 2005
Posts: 5840
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 3:18 pm
Post subject: Re: Vista?

Well I tell ya what berlopez.....you may not like hearing this since you just bought that computer, but the 1024 (1 MB) of RAM is likely what's holding you down some. I can testify that a second Megabyte of RAM really helps turn FSX on in a big way. She needs memory. And Vista will definitely appreciate too I'm sure. If you can swing it I'd suggest checking with your computer vendor abotu a RAM upgrade, since it's usually not too expensive and easy to do yourself, plus nice to do when the system is new and clean and not filled with dust....just a sugegstion.

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 6:01 pm
Post subject: Re: Vista?

Smile Stoopy: Thanks for the imput, I'll take into serious consideration

I found this at jutflight.com and it really helped:
Hi,

THIS WORKS! I tried it and WOW!! It is flyable around London now!

** BACKUP ANY/ALL FILES MENTIONED BELOW BEFORE EDITING ANYTHING ***

Open display.cfg file found in the FS X program folder. Look for the following:


quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
;**********************************************************************
;
; NVidia Cards
;
;**********************************************************************

;----------------------------------------------------------------------
; NVIDIA Drivers on Win2K/XP
;----------------------------------------------------------------------
[nv4_disp.dll]
Disable=1
Shader20Plus=13
UseShaders=0
[nv4_disp.dll.1]
MinDriverRev=5.13.01.1241
Disable=2

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



Add the two lines written in BOLD, EXACTLY where it appears in the quote above. DO NOT COPY ANYTHING ELSE AS MINE MAY BE DIFFERENT TO YOURS! ONLY COPY THE ENTRIES IN BOLD!

Enjoy a quicker/smoother FS X!!
It's much smoother now, jumps abit still; Still experimenting...

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 05, 2005
Posts: 5840
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 6:32 pm
Post subject: Re: Vista?

Ah, yes, the shader trick....I didn't put it into the list we have here becuase of people then having problems with runway and taxiway signs showing up. Check those, and if you don't have that problem then you're one of the lucky people it works for. Good luck!

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 07, 2005
Posts: 6475
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 8:07 am
Post subject: Re: Vista?

I agree with Stoop's about needing more than 1Gb RAM in Vista for better experiences with today's flight sim's.
You should also be aware that there are restrictions on the amount of RAM you can comfortably use in Vista.
In other words, don't think "Oh, good idea. I'll put even more in and get even better results".

Vista 32bit is supposed to take up to 4Gb RAM, but it'll only recognise about 3.5Gb of it.
Vista 64bit will take a lot more RAM but then there are still a lot of problems with compatability with lots of software and drivers.

_________________
Skwerl's place.

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i9-9900k (o/c 4.9GHz); COOLING > BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4;
MOBO > ASUS PRIME Z390-A; RAM > 2x32GB Corsair LPX 2666MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5;
AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music (plus - Universal Audio UAD2 Quad Custom accelerator);
HDD > 3x1TB+ M.2. SSDs; LCD > DELL - S2419HGF (1920x1080);
PSU > 650W be quiet Straight Power 11 - 80+ Gold;
CASE > BeQuiet! SILENT BASE 601; OS > Windows 11 Home Advanced (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2007 1:43 pm
Post subject: Re: Vista?

Smile This might nnot be of any help to anyone, 'cause I don't know what happened?...
I had to reinstall FSX, errased some folders my mistake tried to find them on disc, as you probaby know it's all in code and cannot identify!

Anyway I decided to reinstall and haven't touched my sliders only added some of my airplane addoons...I am getting excellent frames,I'm locked at 30 and I am even getting from 18-29.8!

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  Software
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT - 6 Hours

Archive Revive
Username:
This is an archived topic - your reply will not be appended here.
Instead, a new topic will be generated in the active forum.
The new topic will provide a reference link to this archived topic.