±Recent Visitors

Recent Visitors to Com-Central!

±User Info-big


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: Harold_Biondo
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 6644

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 63
Total: 63
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Community Forums
02: Member Screenshots
03: Downloads
04: Home
05: Member Screenshots
06: Community Forums
07: Community Forums
08: Community Forums
09: Community Forums
10: Photo Gallery
11: Community Forums
12: Community Forums
13: CPGlang
14: Community Forums
15: Member Screenshots
16: Community Forums
17: CPGlang
18: Home
19: Home
20: Community Forums
21: Community Forums
22: Home
23: Community Forums
24: Community Forums
25: Community Forums
26: Community Forums
27: Community Forums
28: CPGlang
29: Photo Gallery
30: CPGlang
31: Community Forums
32: Community Forums
33: Home
34: Community Forums
35: Community Forums
36: Community Forums
37: Community Forums
38: Home
39: Community Forums
40: Home
41: Community Forums
42: Community Forums
43: Community Forums
44: Community Forums
45: Community Forums
46: Community Forums
47: Home
48: News
49: Community Forums
50: Community Forums
51: Home
52: Statistics
53: Community Forums
54: Community Forums
55: Community Forums
56: Home
57: Home
58: Community Forums
59: Home
60: Home
61: Community Forums
62: Community Forums
63: Home

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
FSX Turbo Beaver now available! :: Archived
A forum for Microsoft's Flight Simulator X
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  FSX

Topic Archived View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Uhu_Rodion
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Nov 14, 2004
Posts: 1437
Location: L'Aquila, Italy
PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 10:07 am
Post subject: FSX Turbo Beaver now available!

Here:
-> www.premaircraft.com/t...index.html


Marco
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website MSN Messenger Photo Gallery
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 21, 2005
Posts: 6989
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 10:51 am
Post subject: Re: FSX Turbo Beaver now available!

:D... Looks like it's time to start a FSX download section at CC...:wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 3:10 pm
Post subject: Re: FSX Turbo Beaver now available!

I downloaded it just like I have it in Fs9, very similar.
Sorry I just have one question, and excuse me if I me posting wrong:

The de havilland Beaver DHC2 from FSX doesn't have landing gear. My version in Fs9 does. is this intentional or do I have something wrong in my system? Shocked

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Uhu_Rodion
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Nov 14, 2004
Posts: 1437
Location: L'Aquila, Italy
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 4:26 pm
Post subject: Re: FSX Turbo Beaver now available!

Hallo, berlopez, and welcome to Com-Central!

The Turbo-Beaver for FS9 and FSX are add-on models made by Barry Blaisdell and Co. at Premaircraft, substantially the same plane with just some tweaks to make it work on both sims.

The Beaver included in FSX is a stock plane, and it has been provided only in the float version. The wheeled one you have on FS9, I suppose is a freeware add-on (but there was also a payware one available).

So there's nothing wrong in your system.
Wink

Marco
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website MSN Messenger Photo Gallery
Uhu_Fledermaus
Aircraft Demolition Expert

Offline Offline
Joined: Nov 28, 2004
Posts: 4369
Location: Blaricum, The Netherlands ~GMT+1
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 4:56 pm
Post subject: Re: FSX Turbo Beaver now available!

Thankx for the HU Marco !

much appreciated


fled
Cool
Back to top
View user's profile ICQ Number MSN Messenger Photo Gallery
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:58 pm
Post subject: Re: FSX Turbo Beaver now available!

Marco: thanks for the info. and confirmation that nothing is wrong with my system. I still think, dhuu! of MS. to include such a good plane with unrealistic charasteristics as these, ( that you can't land on land) is a real Dhuu... Evil or Very Mad

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 05, 2005
Posts: 5840
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 7:40 pm
Post subject: Re: FSX Turbo Beaver now available!

But....you can land the default FSX Beaver on land, I've done it.

Just couldn't taxi off the runway or get it off the ground again without a ton of power...

I think including it was a nice nod to bush flying, ...which is where FSX really really really really shines even more than it's predecessor (tried landing the Maule with skis on a glacier yet??)

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Uhu_Rodion
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Nov 14, 2004
Posts: 1437
Location: L'Aquila, Italy
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 7:44 pm
Post subject: Re: FSX Turbo Beaver now available!

You might be right, berlopez, but just consider FSX includes some "missions" where you really need a seaplane, if you don't want to sink in the water.

Moreover, I like float-planes so much - that's true, they look limited as they're not amphibian and cannot "land on land", but here I go - I have a strange magnetic tendency to crash on runways even while on wheels, so...
Wink

Marco
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website MSN Messenger Photo Gallery
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:10 pm
Post subject: Re: FSX Turbo Beaver now available!

What if I run out of fuel over land. Not that there are many tank stations on water; At least not in my area Laughing

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 05, 2005
Posts: 5840
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:27 pm
Post subject: Re: FSX Turbo Beaver now available!

...and therein lies the caution that every real-world floatplane pilot faces when aviating over the countryside.

I was thinking the very same thing when doing one of the missions that uses the Beaver ("San Juan Island Run" I think).....and it made me realize that in real life, the proper thing to do would be to not go directly via GPS straight-line direction to the destination, but to follow the waterways as a general guideline, while also maintaining sufficient altitude to make it to safe water in the case of an inflight emergency.

In that respect, giving us something to consider and realistically manage along the same ways as the real-world counterparts, I think it's a great addition.

There are certain waterports you can land and dock at that have a refueling station right there as well.....not a lot, but they're around Wink

There was some other discussion I was reading, I forget where, and the same thign was questioned. Some 'knowledeable authority' type of person claimed that more Beavers were float-equipped than without. I don't know if that's true, but you can run an interesting, quick test.....do a Google Image search for 'DeHavilland Beaver" and see the images that pop up.

When I do it, it does seem like at least half of them are equipped with floats. Of course, of those, half again have those "amphib" floats with the teeny weeny little wheels that can retract out.....not that those will do ya much good when trying to land on a rough dirt or grass strip in the wilderness either.... Laughing

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 10:08 am
Post subject: Re: FSX Turbo Beaver now available!

Very interesting response and I can see you have the same interests as I do regarding the beaver. Thanks. I think I know what those tiny wheels are for. Only when the planes are to be taken out of the water, FX. for servicing they I, don't know for sure, are attached to the underside of the floaters and then the plane can be pushed/draged out of the water for that purpose.
Still "good luck in finding fuel, If you don't have your fuel setting right in the realism setting"

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 8:55 pm
Post subject: Re: FSX Turbo Beaver now available!

Wink This is a nice Beaver, Still think that the original from Eugene Heyart has a better panel. Cool

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 05, 2005
Posts: 5840
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:36 pm
Post subject: Re: FSX Turbo Beaver now available!

- berlopez
Wink This is a nice Beaver


Yep......never seen a beaver I that I didn't like Wink Laughing

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:58 pm
Post subject: Re: FSX Turbo Beaver now available!

Wink I prefer the digital panel form the analog Wink

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Adrian_Wainer
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jun 03, 2006
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 4:15 pm
Post subject: Re: FSX Turbo Beaver now available!

In the search for the crew of the missing airship Italia, one of the search pilots put hs flying boat down on the ice and took off again, I have not seen reports of any other instances of this technique but it is certianly something to think about, furthermore you could trying landing the floatplane in a river or lake if you are not near the coast.

Best and Warm Regards
Adrian Wainer
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  FSX
Page 1 of 2
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Go to page 1, 2  Next

Archive Revive
Username:
This is an archived topic - your reply will not be appended here.
Instead, a new topic will be generated in the active forum.
The new topic will provide a reference link to this archived topic.