±Recent Visitors

Recent Visitors to Com-Central!

±User Info-big


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: cgsimpson
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 6646

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 118
Total: 118
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Home
02: Community Forums
03: Community Forums
04: Photo Gallery
05: Community Forums
06: CPGlang
07: Community Forums
08: CPGlang
09: Community Forums
10: Community Forums
11: Home
12: Home
13: Community Forums
14: Community Forums
15: Community Forums
16: Home
17: Community Forums
18: Community Forums
19: Community Forums
20: Community Forums
21: Photo Gallery
22: Community Forums
23: Home
24: Community Forums
25: Community Forums
26: Community Forums
27: Community Forums
28: Community Forums
29: Community Forums
30: Home
31: Community Forums
32: Community Forums
33: Community Forums
34: Community Forums
35: Community Forums
36: Community Forums
37: Downloads
38: Photo Gallery
39: CPGlang
40: Home
41: Search
42: Community Forums
43: CPGlang
44: News
45: Community Forums
46: Home
47: Community Forums
48: Home
49: Community Forums
50: Community Forums
51: CPGlang
52: Community Forums
53: Community Forums
54: Community Forums
55: Community Forums
56: Community Forums
57: Community Forums
58: Community Forums
59: CPGlang
60: Community Forums
61: Community Forums
62: Photo Gallery
63: Home
64: Home
65: Community Forums
66: Community Forums
67: Photo Gallery
68: Community Forums
69: Community Forums
70: Community Forums
71: Home
72: Home
73: Community Forums
74: CPGlang
75: Community Forums
76: Home
77: CPGlang
78: Community Forums
79: Community Forums
80: Community Forums
81: CPGlang
82: Community Forums
83: Home
84: Community Forums
85: CPGlang
86: Downloads
87: Home
88: Member Screenshots
89: Community Forums
90: Community Forums
91: Photo Gallery
92: Community Forums
93: Community Forums
94: Community Forums
95: Community Forums
96: Community Forums
97: Community Forums
98: Community Forums
99: Home
100: Home
101: Community Forums
102: Home
103: Community Forums
104: Community Forums
105: Community Forums
106: Photo Gallery
107: Community Forums
108: Community Forums
109: Community Forums
110: Home
111: Community Forums
112: CPGlang
113: Community Forums
114: Home
115: Photo Gallery
116: Community Forums
117: Home
118: Community Forums

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
[SOLVED] Help! recovering default 737-800 radio gauge :: Archived
A forum for Microsoft's Flight Simulator X
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  FSX

Topic Archived View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:25 am
Post subject: [SOLVED] Help! recovering default 737-800 radio gauge

I messed up attempting to install an addon into my installation and ruined my 737-800. I messed up the whole folder,By unzipping the .cab file into the panel folder of the 737-800; Now it's all full of BMP'S and XML'S And I haven't the faintest which go where? Or how to restore the original???

I'd hate to have to reinstall my whole FSX\Gold installation. I have been adviced to run a repair...Before doing that I Googled and in there many posts say that there's a risk that FSX\Gold might not start?

All I'm trying to do is to reinstate the radios in the default 737-800

Any advice would be greatly appreciated Smile

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 21, 2005
Posts: 6989
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:43 pm
Post subject: Re: Help! recovering default 737-800 radio gauge FSX \Gold

Put the .cab file from the add-on into the proper location without decompressing it and the plane should pick up the needed files. If that works, decompress the add-on's .cab file into a Temp folder to see what files are in the folder. Find the same files in the FSX folder you mistakenly installed the decompressed files to and delete them one at a time until all are gone.

If that doesn't work, you can try deleting the 737-800 folder and try the restore option in FSX.

The final step is to reinstall FSX from scratch if the other two options doesn't work.

Good luck and let us know what you needed to do... Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
HF_SlowHand
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Aug 27, 2005
Posts: 767
Location: Meeechigan
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 11:15 am
Post subject: Re: Help! recovering default 737-800 radio gauge FSX \Gold

maybe someone can list the files in their default folder then just get rid of the rest and reinstall your add on?
slow

_________________
I deny everything
I lie about everything
And everything I deny
Is a lie!
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:20 am
Post subject: Re: Help! recovering default 737-800 radio gauge FSX \Gold

I've tried preatty much everything,sadly it hasn't worked. I deleted the addon,that caused all this,as I messed up the files myself and confused them between 737.gau,737.cab; Ive tried to reinstate them,since I has saved them to my desktop...But no luck!?

My only option now as you mention HF_Slowhand is the repair option; I'm just afraid of loosinig my addons and installed scenry. A member of another forum,who is trying t help me says it won't happen,I won't loose anything? I was nder the impression,that when FSX does a repair it defaults everything?

Thank you Shadow for you guidelines...

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
HF_SlowHand
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Aug 27, 2005
Posts: 767
Location: Meeechigan
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 12:57 am
Post subject: Re: Help! recovering default 737-800 radio gauge FSX \Gold

What I was saying is this. Here is a list of the default files in the FSX 737-800 Panel Folder. Delete everything but those (did you change any other folders? It didnt appear so by your post).


737_compass
737_Panel_Decals_2
737-800_panel_background
737-800_panel_background_night
B737_800 (its the CAB File)
pnl.cfg
upper_640

At least this is all thats in my FSX Accleration game. Hope its of some help.
Slow

_________________
I deny everything
I lie about everything
And everything I deny
Is a lie!
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 10:34 pm
Post subject: Re: Help! recovering default 737-800 radio gauge FSX \Gold

Chucks! No luck???

I've tried everything; Even an FSX repair,whcich strangely didn't work at all...Firstly it didn't give me/ask me for a path; Unless I'm mistaken it's supposed to detect automatically that FSX is already installed?

Secondly My installation is under my C:\...Not under programs\program files as it's supposed to be by default; I was adviced to do this to avoid permission problems in win7...When I got it.

I let that installation run completely even put in my Accel. disc and they both were succesful,as far as the message was concerned??? When I started FSX I was surprised to hera the music theme I had chosen began to play; Not the default one. Went to load the default flight...here again it was my set-up default; Then went in to load the 737...Still nothing new. Tonight I have searched again for answers and I think I must come to the conclusion that the radio bit map is missing. I copied various sections where the radio of the 737 is included and nothing...Still black
Two simmers have sent me theire panle folders and I have moved them into my aircraft...To no avail???

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
HF_SlowHand
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Aug 27, 2005
Posts: 767
Location: Meeechigan
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 12:41 am
Post subject: Re: Help! recovering default 737-800 radio gauge FSX \Gold

Missing the Gau file out of the Main Guages folder? May it was over written? Sad...

_________________
I deny everything
I lie about everything
And everything I deny
Is a lie!
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 21, 2005
Posts: 6989
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:05 am
Post subject: Re: Help! recovering default 737-800 radio gauge FSX \Gold

Here's the stock B737_800 folder from my install of FSX w/Accel. I've zipped it up, so extract it and install in the stock SimObjects/Airplane folder. I would suggest you delete your original file and replace it with this one.

Here's the LINK.

Good luck and I hope this works for you.. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:16 am
Post subject: Re: Help! recovering default 737-800 radio gauge FSX \Gold

Shadow: Thanks for the plane/link. I did as you instruct,as I have with all other files I've tried to fix this issue; Another simmer also sent me last night his copy of his 737_800 and that didn't work either; I'm agasped! I just unzipped and installed yours...Got the same results...Black box instead of Radios ???

HF_Slowhand My panel folder contains exactly the same files you mention below; What the contents of the .cab file are I don't know, I don't usually unzip these as they usually get ruined,if one does...

I'm not completely sure what is going on? If the bit Map got ruined; I have a 737-400.gau file in my FSX\Gauges folder...No .cab file is that belongs there????I don't know?

Got the same result as in the image above...I can't believe I might have to reinstall FSX to get this gauge to show? Sad I've restored FSX twice; even restored computer once...Which you might think is drastic,Anything to avoid a reinstall.

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 21, 2005
Posts: 6989
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:54 pm
Post subject: Re: Help! recovering default 737-800 radio gauge FSX \Gold

What about the gauges folder? I'm wondering if the offending (missing) file could be in there? I did take a look at the config file as well as the gauges folder and didn't see any kind of reference outside of it's own folder, but it's possible it's in there in some obtuse way. I've attached a download of 2 DLL files that reference the Boeing and these are from the Gauges folder. Put those two files in that location.

If the gauges folder doesn't fix the problem, it's time to install FSX again. That also brings up another issue. You should always make a ghost or image file of your working FSX clean install on a backup USB drive just in case. You can also update the image file after any major upgrade such as FTX and/or keep/replace the prior file.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 2:00 pm
Post subject: Re: Help! recovering default 737-800 radio gauge FSX \Gold

Thanks Shadow; I suspected it was the .dll; Another simmer sent me it with instructions to install in the FSX\Gauges folder...And that did the trick, Mine must have got corrupted;
Thanks a million for sending it anyway

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 11:27 am
Post subject: Re: Help! recovering default 737-800 radio gauge FSX \Gold

I was told by simmers here to make an IMAGE of my system...Just in case? But the way the files opened had nothing to do with my FS installation...More like the win7 installation; IN the end I contcated the guy...He replied he had no idea how an image worked???

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 21, 2005
Posts: 6989
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:53 pm
Post subject: Re: Help! recovering default 737-800 radio gauge FSX \Gold

Glad you got it sorted... Wink

Here's a link to Cloning (Imaging) a hard drive and/or a partition... Click HERE!

Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
berlopez
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Dec 28, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Copenhagen.DK
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 8:31 pm
Post subject: Re: [SOLVED] Help! recovering default 737-800 radio gauge

Thanks for the link Shadow...I'm not good at understanding this,I must admit. Thjerefore I decided to make a copy of my existing FSX install onto an external HD...

Took for ever,almost 9 hours...But now a have a save copy,

Thanks

_________________
Began simming with Fs2002 have developed my sim and computer skills with these.Dell Vostro 220,Penduim Dual Core E6300 2.8; 2.79 Ghz;3.00GB, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS; High Definition Audio. Windows 7 Pro. My old computer fried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  FSX
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT - 6 Hours

Archive Revive
Username:
This is an archived topic - your reply will not be appended here.
Instead, a new topic will be generated in the active forum.
The new topic will provide a reference link to this archived topic.